Hoping to get the collective wisdom of the group on the Mantle of Majesty ability from the glamour bard ability's.
OK, so rules as written:
Mantle of Majesty
As a bonus action, you cast command, without expending a spell slot, and you take on an appearance of unearthly beauty for 1 minute or until your concentration ends (as if you were concentrating on a spell). During this time, you can cast command as a bonus action on each of your turns, without expending a spell slot.
Casting time - Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
So, if mantle of majesty is in effect and the Bard casts command as a Bonus action does that mean the bard cant cast another non-cantrip spells as an action, PLUS while MoM is in effect if they choose not to use Bonus Action command they cant cast a different concentration spell without dropping MoM? Or would the casting time rule not apply here? (Baldur's Gate 3 may have ruined me for this ability)
Depends if you're playing the 2014 or 2024 one- in 2024, rather than checking timing, the rule is you can only cast one spell with a slot per turn. Thus you can still cast other leveled spells on the turn you use this feature. For the 2014 version, your interpretation is correct- the fact that you cast Command as a Bonus Action would preclude you from casting any other leveled spells on the same turn.
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
so, if you have war caster, I guess you could burn a slot during your action+bonusaction and then burn another slot during your Opportunity-like-Attack reaction. As long as you reaction occurs on someone else's turn, you could burn two slots per round.
Weird corner case: can you cast a slotted spell during your bonus action, and then use the Ready Action to cast another slotted spell as part of your reaction? It looks like a readied spell burns its slot on the reaction. You just need to maintain concentration in between your ready action and reaction.
Weird corner case: can you cast a slotted spell during your bonus action, and then use the Ready Action to cast another slotted spell as part of your reaction? It looks like a readied spell burns its slot on the reaction. You just need to maintain concentration in between your ready action and reaction.
The 2024 Ready action specifically says you expend the spell slot (or any other resource used to cast the spell) when you take the Ready action, not when you use the Reaction:
When you Ready a spell, you cast it as normal (expending any resources used to cast it) but hold its energy, which you release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs.
Also probably worth pointing out that the rules is that you can only spend one spell slot per turn on casting a spell. Spending a spell slot on anything else does not count.
This is a relevant distinction because there are a whole bunch of 2024 class and subclass features that have a limited number of uses per rest but allow you to spend spell slots to do them again once those uses run out.
" If your Concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect."
hm.... I read that as the fireball doesn't produce fire, but also doesn't use a spell slot. But burn a slot at Ready, and maybe nothing happens at Reaction works too.
Weirdly, I think WarCaster could burn a slot on an opportunity-like-spell-attack...
Which makes the question of "can my warcaster cast healingword on an ally as he runs past me?" a bit more power-gamery
"you can only spend one spell slot per turn on casting a spell."
I can think of "FeyTouched" as a feature that lets you cast a spell (MistyStep) without using a slot once per long rest. but I'm tired and its late and I can't think of any features right now that arent' a spell but still burn a spell slot? moving sorcerer metamagic from slots to points, I guess, would be one. I don't think I would have counted that in the one-slot per turn limit.
Hoping to get the collective wisdom of the group on the Mantle of Majesty ability from the glamour bard ability's.
OK, so rules as written:
Mantle of Majesty
As a bonus action, you cast command, without expending a spell slot, and you take on an appearance of unearthly beauty for 1 minute or until your concentration ends (as if you were concentrating on a spell). During this time, you can cast command as a bonus action on each of your turns, without expending a spell slot.
Casting time - Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
So, if mantle of majesty is in effect and the Bard casts command as a Bonus action does that mean the bard cant cast another non-cantrip spells as an action, PLUS while MoM is in effect if they choose not to use Bonus Action command they cant cast a different concentration spell without dropping MoM? Or would the casting time rule not apply here? (Baldur's Gate 3 may have ruined me for this ability)
Depends if you're playing the 2014 or 2024 one- in 2024, rather than checking timing, the rule is you can only cast one spell with a slot per turn. Thus you can still cast other leveled spells on the turn you use this feature. For the 2014 version, your interpretation is correct- the fact that you cast Command as a Bonus Action would preclude you from casting any other leveled spells on the same turn.
yeah, I think 2024 simplified this.
you can burn one spell slot per turn, or is it per round? cant remember if it counts your reaction.
so the first thing to look for on any feature are the words "you cast <spellname>, without expending a spell slot"
if it says that, you're good to use a spell slot for something else that same turn, assuming you have something left in your action or bonus action...
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/phb-2024/spells#CastingTime
One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
so, if you have war caster, I guess you could burn a slot during your action+bonusaction and then burn another slot during your Opportunity-like-Attack reaction. As long as you reaction occurs on someone else's turn, you could burn two slots per round.
Weird corner case: can you cast a slotted spell during your bonus action, and then use the Ready Action to cast another slotted spell as part of your reaction? It looks like a readied spell burns its slot on the reaction. You just need to maintain concentration in between your ready action and reaction.
The 2024 Ready action specifically says you expend the spell slot (or any other resource used to cast the spell) when you take the Ready action, not when you use the Reaction:
So no, that doesn't work that way.
pronouns: he/she/they
Also probably worth pointing out that the rules is that you can only spend one spell slot per turn on casting a spell. Spending a spell slot on anything else does not count.
This is a relevant distinction because there are a whole bunch of 2024 class and subclass features that have a limited number of uses per rest but allow you to spend spell slots to do them again once those uses run out.
pronouns: he/she/they
" If your Concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect."
hm.... I read that as the fireball doesn't produce fire, but also doesn't use a spell slot. But burn a slot at Ready, and maybe nothing happens at Reaction works too.
Weirdly, I think WarCaster could burn a slot on an opportunity-like-spell-attack...
Which makes the question of "can my warcaster cast healingword on an ally as he runs past me?" a bit more power-gamery
"you can only spend one spell slot per turn on casting a spell."
I can think of "FeyTouched" as a feature that lets you cast a spell (MistyStep) without using a slot once per long rest.
but I'm tired and its late and I can't think of any features right now that arent' a spell but still burn a spell slot?
moving sorcerer metamagic from slots to points, I guess, would be one. I don't think I would have counted that in the one-slot per turn limit.
Appreciate the clarification, all. Glad this prompted the interesting side conversation.