With Blink you go into the etheral plane and then for 1 minute at the start of your turn you go back to the original plane and then at the end back to the etheral plane. is there anyway I could drop a jar effectively into the etheral plane since dropping is usually a free action and since turns are 6 seconds id be there for at least that time. is that doable?
I don't see any reason this wouldn't work. The spell doesn't say any objects you're wearing or carrying reappear with you if they're no longer being worn or carried. I'd assume such items thus follow the normal rules for being unattended items and stay where they are until disturbed by an outside force.
I don't see any reason this wouldn't work. The spell doesn't say any objects you're wearing or carrying reappear with you if they're no longer being worn or carried. I'd assume such items thus follow the normal rules for being unattended items and stay where they are until disturbed by an outside force.
Well, the problem is that with Blink you are only in the Ethereal Plane when it's not your turn. You go there at the end of your turn and return at the start of your next turn. Generally even a "free action" has to be done on your turn, I would think.
However, I think it would work if you used the Ready action to set up a trigger to do it with your Reaction when you appear in the Ethereal Plane. That's using a second action (the first being casting Blink) and a Reaction, but I assume dropping this particular jar is important enough for that to be worth it.
If they weren't in combat at the time I think it'd definitely be fine to just hand-wave it.
[...] On the opponent turn a goblin hits you. Are you allowed to sheath or drop your weapon out of turn and cast Shield as a reaction? You won't have another reaction left for an opportunity attack anyway. [...]
Not sure if SmiteMakesRight_3_5 wanted to answer this part, or even if everyone agrees with me, but the way I interpret the rules, I think the intent for object interaction is to happen on your turn, so it wouldn't be allowed on another creature's turn, for example with the Reaction you described.
Your Turn
On your turn, you can move a distance up to your Speed and take one action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first. [...]
Interacting with Things.You can interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe.
And:
Time-Limited Object Interactions
When time is short, such as in combat, interactions with objects are limited: one free interaction per turn. That interaction must occurduring a creature’s movement or action. Any additional interactions require the Utilize action, as explained in “Combat” later in this chapter.
However I'd say it's fine if you use your turn to take the Ready Action and consume your Reaction off-turn to recover at least your dropped weapon.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
With Blink you go into the etheral plane and then for 1 minute at the start of your turn you go back to the original plane and then at the end back to the etheral plane. is there anyway I could drop a jar effectively into the etheral plane since dropping is usually a free action and since turns are 6 seconds id be there for at least that time. is that doable?
I don't see any reason this wouldn't work. The spell doesn't say any objects you're wearing or carrying reappear with you if they're no longer being worn or carried. I'd assume such items thus follow the normal rules for being unattended items and stay where they are until disturbed by an outside force.
Well, the problem is that with Blink you are only in the Ethereal Plane when it's not your turn. You go there at the end of your turn and return at the start of your next turn. Generally even a "free action" has to be done on your turn, I would think.
However, I think it would work if you used the Ready action to set up a trigger to do it with your Reaction when you appear in the Ethereal Plane. That's using a second action (the first being casting Blink) and a Reaction, but I assume dropping this particular jar is important enough for that to be worth it.
If they weren't in combat at the time I think it'd definitely be fine to just hand-wave it.
pronouns: he/she/they
I'm with wagnarokkr you would need to Ready the Utilize action since you're only in the Ethereal Plane off turn and Time-Limited Object Interactions is only during your turn where you're Interacting with Things while doing something else during your move or action.
That's my understanding as well. I'll reuse a response I wrote related to this: