My player used wall of force on a nightwalker and said how he placed him in a ball basically. Is this allowed? He said how he forced him onto one side, but the sphere can't be more than 10 feet in diameter, would this work?
An invisible wall of force springs into existence at a point you choose within range. The wall appears in any orientation you choose, as a horizontal or vertical barrier or at an angle. It can be free floating or resting on a solid surface. You can form it into a hemispherical dome or a sphere with a radius of up to 10 feet, or you can shape a flat surface made up of ten 10-foot-by-10-foot panels. Each panel must be contiguous with another panel. In any form, the wall is 1/4 inch thick. It lasts for the duration. If the wall cuts through a creature's space when it appears, the creature is pushed to one side of the wall (your choice which side).
Nothing can physically pass through the wall. It is immune to all damage and can't be dispelled by dispel magic. A disintegrate spell destroys the wall instantly, however. The wall also extends into the Ethereal Plane, blocking ethereal travel through the wall.
The dome or sphere can be up to 10 feet in radius which is about 20 feet in diameter. If a creature is within the dome or sphere then it is literally trapped. Since constructs of force like this wall also go into the Ethereal plane they're quite stuck unless they can disintegrate it or teleport out. You can choose to make the dome/sphere smaller if you want and the wall itself is actually very thin so it's pretty easy to encase a single creature. 20 feet diameter pretty much allows you to trap huge creatures or a few Large creatures or several Medium creatures.
What your player did is not only allowed by the rules of the spell but also using it as intended: the spell is designed to either block things or trap things, giving a variety of uses.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I guess it was a misunderstanding of the spell on my end. I guess what I am concerned about, is the spell being used on a creature too big for it. It would almost seem like an instant K.O to a monster if you just force it inside a box it can't fit in, effectively breaking it bones.
Just wanted to add, it won't cause the creature to get crushed inside of the sphere. The creature would simply gets pushed entirely outside of the sphere which you as the DM would determine. It only traps creatures that fit inside of the area. The only case where it may crush a creature too big for it is perhaps a shapeshifting dragon? If they are in a humanoid form, get trapped without their knowledge, and then shapeshift back into dragon, they could be crushed within that sphere with the DM's final say.
My player used wall of force on a nightwalker and said how he placed him in a ball basically. Is this allowed? He said how he forced him onto one side, but the sphere can't be more than 10 feet in diameter, would this work?
The dome or sphere can be up to 10 feet in radius which is about 20 feet in diameter. If a creature is within the dome or sphere then it is literally trapped. Since constructs of force like this wall also go into the Ethereal plane they're quite stuck unless they can disintegrate it or teleport out. You can choose to make the dome/sphere smaller if you want and the wall itself is actually very thin so it's pretty easy to encase a single creature. 20 feet diameter pretty much allows you to trap huge creatures or a few Large creatures or several Medium creatures.
What your player did is not only allowed by the rules of the spell but also using it as intended: the spell is designed to either block things or trap things, giving a variety of uses.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I guess it was a misunderstanding of the spell on my end. I guess what I am concerned about, is the spell being used on a creature too big for it. It would almost seem like an instant K.O to a monster if you just force it inside a box it can't fit in, effectively breaking it bones.
Just wanted to add, it won't cause the creature to get crushed inside of the sphere. The creature would simply gets pushed entirely outside of the sphere which you as the DM would determine. It only traps creatures that fit inside of the area. The only case where it may crush a creature too big for it is perhaps a shapeshifting dragon? If they are in a humanoid form, get trapped without their knowledge, and then shapeshift back into dragon, they could be crushed within that sphere with the DM's final say.
Ok thank you for the clarification, so just to reiterate, a huge creature like the night walker is able to be contained in the sphere.
Yes... the sphere version is 10ft radius, or 20 ft diameter. That means a creature up to 20 ft in any direction ( height, width, length) can fit