Just wondering if I'm reading the rules/descriptions of lair actions for creatures correctly.
Example: an adult black dragon in its lair. Round 1, initiative count 20: the dragon creates darkness. Round 2, initiative count 20: the dragon creates a cloud of swarming insects.
The darkness is still going, though, yes? The RAW say it only dissipates if the dragon dismisses it or uses the same lair action again.
So Round 2, by initiative count 19, the magical darkness and the insect swarm are still going, right?
Yes, you are correct as far as I can see - there are no restrictions on concurrent lair actions, where the lair actions are persistent (duration) effects, other than where noted under those lair actions.
Just wondering if I'm reading the rules/descriptions of lair actions for creatures correctly.
Example: an adult black dragon in its lair. Round 1, initiative count 20: the dragon creates darkness. Round 2, initiative count 20: the dragon creates a cloud of swarming insects.
The darkness is still going, though, yes? The RAW say it only dissipates if the dragon dismisses it or uses the same lair action again.
So Round 2, by initiative count 19, the magical darkness and the insect swarm are still going, right?
Yes, you are correct as far as I can see - there are no restrictions on concurrent lair actions, where the lair actions are persistent (duration) effects, other than where noted under those lair actions.
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊