Say a player has diamond dust worth 500gp and use it on a spell that requires diamond dust of 300gp. Wouldn't the 500gp just be consumed all together or would they have 200gp worth of dust
As I understand it, the spell would consume the amount of diamond dust required, but it depends on how you want to look at it.
If the somatic component for the spell is for the wizard to create a pentagram on the floor using the diamond dust and they use too much, it's probably all used (or they get to play at sweeping up the spare dust).
Yes, for this component, I'd rule that the spell caster only uses as much as the spell consumes. For other components, such as an actual diamond (not dust) worth a certain amount, I'd say that if the spell needed a diamond worth 300gp, and the player used a diamond worth 500gp, the whole diamond would still be consumed - it wouldn't split into another diamond.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Say a player has diamond dust worth 500gp and use it on a spell that requires diamond dust of 300gp. Wouldn't the 500gp just be consumed all together or would they have 200gp worth of dust
As I understand it, the spell would consume the amount of diamond dust required, but it depends on how you want to look at it.
If the somatic component for the spell is for the wizard to create a pentagram on the floor using the diamond dust and they use too much, it's probably all used (or they get to play at sweeping up the spare dust).
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
I would rule that the spell only burns as much fuel as it needs.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Yes, for this component, I'd rule that the spell caster only uses as much as the spell consumes. For other components, such as an actual diamond (not dust) worth a certain amount, I'd say that if the spell needed a diamond worth 300gp, and the player used a diamond worth 500gp, the whole diamond would still be consumed - it wouldn't split into another diamond.