If members of the same party share these pouches and put there hands in them at the same time, would they be touching hands?
The infused pouches all share one interdimensional space of the same capacity as a single pouch. Thus, reaching into any of the pouches allows access to the same storage space. A pouch operates as
long as it is within 100 miles of another one of the pouches
I considered that myself. It is up to DM interpretation, but I interpret that anything still through the opening of the pouch is not "in" the pouch. If two hands grab the same item, they feel the item being influenced by an invisible force. When an item is removed from one pouch, the other pouches see the item sink into the seams.
This interpretation also prevents passing large items through two pouches.
I considered that myself. It is up to DM interpretation, but I interpret that anything still through the opening of the pouch is not "in" the pouch. If two hands grab the same item, they feel the item being influenced by an invisible force. When an item is removed from one pouch, the other pouches see the item sink into the seams.
This interpretation also prevents passing large items through two pouches.
Would be a lot simpler to say only one pouch can access the interdimensional space at a time; if a pouch is already open, the others look empty, same as when they're out of range.
There should be some sort of clarification. It should state what can't be done.
Nah, the rules should be as simple as possible. The DM is there for the corner cases. If you were intended to be able to use it as a cheat for long-range touch spells, its rules would have included it.
Really, as a DM I would say yes because in the case of the Bag of Devouring it says this about things partly in the bag;
When part of a living creature is placed in the bag, as happens when someone reaches inside it, there is a 50 percent chance that the creature is pulled inside the bag.
So with that logic if something is placed partway in the bag say a hand reaching in to grab something then I would say you could touch hands and give the person you are touching a touch spell. You could also pass large items through as long as they could fit through the opening. Swords, poles lengths of rope and the like.
Being able to touch hands through the bag is such a niche (and fun!) application, that I don't think it's worth getting upset over or attempting to limit the normal way extradimensional bags are understood to operate. To do that in combat, your target would have had to Use an Object or use a free interaction to get their hand into their pouch and leave it there (no two handed weapon, no shield, no dual wielding), and then you would have to Use an Object or use a free interaction to get your own hand in there (and still have an Action of some sort left to cast a spell), so..... seems like something that might come up once or twice during a dramatic exploration encounter, but unlikely to be used to h4ck the system too badly.
Really, as a DM I would say yes because in the case of the Bag of Devouring it says this about things partly in the bag;
When part of a living creature is placed in the bag, as happens when someone reaches inside it, there is a 50 percent chance that the creature is pulled inside the bag.
So with that logic if something is placed partway in the bag say a hand reaching in to grab something then I would say you could touch hands and give the person you are touching a touch spell. You could also pass large items through as long as they could fit through the opening. Swords, poles lengths of rope and the like.
The item in question is not the Bag of Devouring (a cursed item), so I would not apply how that specific item functions to anything other than the BoD. That interaction is specific to Bag of Devouring.. kinda its thing.
Plus this item doesn't exist outside of homebrew. It was from the old UA Artificer, and did not make the cut as a published item.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
I would say that when two or more bags are open, than the outside of the other bag can be seen through a bag but a sound barrier would be between them. in other words the bag is a silent wormhole. It would be hillarious to just have the player sneak one of these to the enemy and sneak into the fortress by crawling through a bag.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If members of the same party share these pouches and put there hands in them at the same time, would they be touching hands?
I considered that myself. It is up to DM interpretation, but I interpret that anything still through the opening of the pouch is not "in" the pouch. If two hands grab the same item, they feel the item being influenced by an invisible force. When an item is removed from one pouch, the other pouches see the item sink into the seams.
This interpretation also prevents passing large items through two pouches.
I considered it a way casting touch spells.
Another reason to NOT let them touch hands.
There should be some sort of clarification. It should state what can't be done.
Would be a lot simpler to say only one pouch can access the interdimensional space at a time; if a pouch is already open, the others look empty, same as when they're out of range.
Nah, the rules should be as simple as possible. The DM is there for the corner cases. If you were intended to be able to use it as a cheat for long-range touch spells, its rules would have included it.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Really, as a DM I would say yes because in the case of the Bag of Devouring it says this about things partly in the bag;
So with that logic if something is placed partway in the bag say a hand reaching in to grab something then I would say you could touch hands and give the person you are touching a touch spell. You could also pass large items through as long as they could fit through the opening. Swords, poles lengths of rope and the like.
Being able to touch hands through the bag is such a niche (and fun!) application, that I don't think it's worth getting upset over or attempting to limit the normal way extradimensional bags are understood to operate. To do that in combat, your target would have had to Use an Object or use a free interaction to get their hand into their pouch and leave it there (no two handed weapon, no shield, no dual wielding), and then you would have to Use an Object or use a free interaction to get your own hand in there (and still have an Action of some sort left to cast a spell), so..... seems like something that might come up once or twice during a dramatic exploration encounter, but unlikely to be used to h4ck the system too badly.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
The item in question is not the Bag of Devouring (a cursed item), so I would not apply how that specific item functions to anything other than the BoD. That interaction is specific to Bag of Devouring.. kinda its thing.
Plus this item doesn't exist outside of homebrew. It was from the old UA Artificer, and did not make the cut as a published item.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
I would say that when two or more bags are open, than the outside of the other bag can be seen through a bag but a sound barrier would be between them. in other words the bag is a silent wormhole. It would be hillarious to just have the player sneak one of these to the enemy and sneak into the fortress by crawling through a bag.