So with the rules as written, you can’t change the 3rd level free choice spell for the arcane trickster rogue. That seems kind of weird especially since the Eldritch knight lets you do that exact thing. If that’s the case you kind of get stuck with a 1st level spell. Is this a typo or oversight or something? Also side note can at rogues take any wizard Cantrip? I’ve been told they’re restricted like the spells but the rules seem to read otherwise.
So with the rules as written, you can’t change the 3rd level free choice spell for the arcane trickster rogue. That seems kind of weird especially since the Eldritch knight lets you do that exact thing. If that’s the case you kind of get stuck with a 1st level spell. Is this a typo or oversight or something? Also side note can at rogues take any wizard Cantrip? I’ve been told they’re restricted like the spells but the rules seem to read otherwise.
It is in fact an oversight. There are no restrictions on cantrips.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
I never noticed this oversight before. WotC should issue an errata.