yesterday we had a discussion about the short rest mechanic.
The rules state "For each Hit Die spent in this way, the player rolls the die and adds the character's Constitution modifier to it. The character regains hit points equal to the total (minimum of 0). The player can decide to spend an additional Hit Die after each roll."
Normally at my tables we interpret the rule that I can add the constitution modifier to every hit die spent. eg the rogue (with modifier +2) gets 1d8 + 2, if he then decides to spent another die he gets 1d8 +2 again. so in total 2d8 + 4.
But yesterday my other group told me that you can only add the constitution modifier once per short rest when you spend hit die. in the case above that would be a total of 2d8 + 2.
Hey,
yesterday we had a discussion about the short rest mechanic.
The rules state "For each Hit Die spent in this way, the player rolls the die and adds the character's Constitution modifier to it. The character regains hit points equal to the total (minimum of 0). The player can decide to spend an additional Hit Die after each roll."
Normally at my tables we interpret the rule that I can add the constitution modifier to every hit die spent. eg the rogue (with modifier +2) gets 1d8 + 2, if he then decides to spent another die he gets 1d8 +2 again. so in total 2d8 + 4.
But yesterday my other group told me that you can only add the constitution modifier once per short rest when you spend hit die. in the case above that would be a total of 2d8 + 2.
What do you think about that?
Your second group is wrong. The rule is very clearly written: “for each Hit Die spent this way...” Each Hit Die means each Hit Die.
ok. thank you for your response and the clarification.