Looking for an official ruling on this if possible, or your take on the spell.
"If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature"
Do you rule it as the spell also ends if it is not cast on something else, or would the spell effect would be available on a subsequent battle, as long as the concentration as not lost? The loss of the spell, to me, goes into conflict with the ability to make it last up to 24 hours when cast at a higher level.
Subsequent: being, occurring, or carried out at a time after something else
"a subsequent turn" means any turn that comes afterwards, not necessarily the next turn. You can definitely affect a new target on a different combat if you don't lose concentration.
Looking for an official ruling on this if possible, or your take on the spell.
"If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature"
Do you rule it as the spell also ends if it is not cast on something else, or would the spell effect would be available on a subsequent battle, as long as the concentration as not lost? The loss of the spell, to me, goes into conflict with the ability to make it last up to 24 hours when cast at a higher level.
"I have the heart of an innocent little girl...in a jar...on my desk..."
Subsequent: being, occurring, or carried out at a time after something else
"a subsequent turn" means any turn that comes afterwards, not necessarily the next turn. You can definitely affect a new target on a different combat if you don't lose concentration.
"After the target of hex drops to 0 hit points, you can curse a new creature on a subsequent turn—doesn't have to be the very next turn." -Jeremy Crawford
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Now, if it said "the subsequent turn". . .
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Tooltips (Help/aid)