I see that this sound in theory very awesome. Creating multiple beams in 1 turn can break the game in my honest opinion. However I would like a D&D beyond moderator to confirm if this is accurate.
There are two different actions regarding sunbeam:
Casting the spell, this what activates the sunbeam for the first time
Creating a new line of radiance :
When the sorcerer Casts the spell he is indeed casting a spell, the casting time of one action can be quicked to a bonus action the on doing so the action can not be used to cast another spell unless it is a cantrip.
On subsequant rounds if Sunbeam is still up he can create a new line of radiance, this is not casting a spell as such it can not be quickened (quickened spell changes the casting time not the time for subsequant actions using the spell) but he is able to cast a levelled spell with a bonus action (either using quickened spell or casting a spell that normally has a casting time of a bonus action) and use his action to move the line of radiance. As Sunbeam is a concentration spell if he uses his bonus action to cast another concentration spell the sunbeam spell will end. I can not see how you can have multiple beams in one turn.
A similar (and more common) situation is a cleric casting spiritual weapon. On the round he casts the spell (as a bonus action) he can not cast a levelled spell with his action but on subsequant turns he can use his bonus action to attack with the spirutual weapon and his action to cast a (levelled) spell.
On subsequant rounds if Sunbeam is still up he can create a new line of radiance, this is not casting a spell as such it can not be quickened (quickened spell changes the casting time not the time for subsequant actions using the spell) but he is able to cast a levelled spell with a bonus action (either using quickened spell or casting a spell that normally has a casting time of a bonus action) and use his action to move the line of radiance. As Sunbeam is a concentration spell if he uses his bonus action to cast another concentration spell the sunbeam spell will end. I can not see how you can have multiple beams in one turn.
On the first round. Because the spell says "any round" then you should be able to quicken the casting and then use your action to create a new line.
I would assume that it is not intended but I'm not sure it's broken enough to ban.
RAW yes - as Thezzaruz said - if a sorcerer quickens Sunbeam on their turn to cast as a bonus action they can use their action on the same turn to trigger it again.
"A beam of brilliant light flashes out from your hand in a 5-foot-wide, 60-foot-long line. Each creature in the line must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 6d8 radiant damage and is blinded until your next turn. On a successful save, it takes half as much damage and isn't blinded by this spell. Undead and oozes have disadvantage on this saving throw.
You can create a new line of radiance as your action on any turn until the spell ends."
... but honestly, it is only 6d8 damage for a 6th level spell so I don't really see any big issue with a sorcerer getting to trigger it twice in one turn. The area of effect is also a bit more challenging to use since I find line effect spells are usually difficult to place to get a large fraction of the opponents.
The only thing you would not be able to do is cast sunbeam as a quickened spell, and then cast sunbeam again as an action spell on the same turn. I understand that this is not what you are asking about, and this would not be an efficient thing to do even if it was possible, so you are good to go the way you described it.
You could theoretically activate it three times. Quickened cast - activates it as a BA. the use your Action to activate the spell again. Then action Surge to activate it a 3rd time. Neat trick.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
One of my players and I have a dispute about quickened metamagic spells. Specifically sunbeam.
I told him that he can cast it as a bonus action and everything else he can do in the same turn is to either attack with his weapon or cast a cantrip, as clarified in the rules.
However, he is trying to convince me that he is not casting another spell, he is activating an already active spell.
Does that mean that he is just activating another sunbeam and that's it, or is he dealing damage twice with the same spell in the same turn.
Meaning, sunbeam as a bonus action, and then sunbeam as an action in the same turn with metamagic quickened spell.
As far as I can tell from the spell description, he's correct. You could certainly rule as a DM that it's only once per turn, though.
You could theoretically activate it three times. Quickened cast - activates it as a BA. the use your Action to activate the spell again. Then action Surge to activate it a 3rd time. Neat trick.
I have a feeling this theory ain't intended. Since "your action"" is singular not plural couldn't it be interpretated as creatable only once/turn?
You could theoretically activate it three times. Quickened cast - activates it as a BA. the use your Action to activate the spell again. Then action Surge to activate it a 3rd time. Neat trick.
I have a feeling this theory ain't intended. Since "your action"" is singular not plural couldn't it be interpretated as creatable only once/turn?
Most things are worded on the assumption you have one action, even something like dash is worded in a similar way only considering dashing once per turn, not only can you dash twice with action surge rogues and monks can also dash twice using a bonus action.
Also I think most of the itentions were based around single classes. I am not even sure if the designers considered that a dip in fighter would allow casters to cast two levelled spells on their turn, maybe they did but they certainly wouldn't have considered how a dip in figher and a choice of quickened meta-magic interact with every single individual spell.
You could theoretically activate it three times. Quickened cast - activates it as a BA. the use your Action to activate the spell again. Then action Surge to activate it a 3rd time. Neat trick.
I have a feeling this theory ain't intended. Since "your action"" is singular not plural couldn't it be interpretated as creatable only once/turn?
RAI you may be right. Seems like the same reading we can apply to witch bolt using the phrase "your action.".
EDIT: At the same time, I'm not sure that it's really a problem. If the right kind of multiclass character wants to nova with a triple sunbeam by using a spell slot, their metamagic, their action, bonus action, and action surge, it's a pretty big investment and the payoff feels proportional IMO.
You could theoretically activate it three times. Quickened cast - activates it as a BA. the use your Action to activate the spell again. Then action Surge to activate it a 3rd time. Neat trick.
I have a feeling this theory ain't intended. Since "your action"" is singular not plural couldn't it be interpretated as creatable only once/turn?
RAI you may be right. Seems like the same reading we can apply to witch bolt using the phrase "your action.".
Most things are worded on the assumption you have one action, even something like dash is worded in a similar way only considering dashing once per turn, not only can you dash twice with action surge rogues and monks can also dash twice using a bonus action.
Dash has no similar wording such as "your action" but it's true that the game assumes "your action" as the one you can take and most effect use wording "as an action" in comparison
But in the end wether it's your (regular) action or the additional one from Action Surge, you can create a new line of radiance as your action with any action you have i guess. I woundn't try to make a distinction between your regular action and your additional one, both should be valid for anything usable as your action.
Your Turn: On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first.
Action Surge: On your turn, you can take one additional action on top of your regular action and a possible bonus action.
You could theoretically activate it three times. Quickened cast - activates it as a BA. the use your Action to activate the spell again. Then action Surge to activate it a 3rd time. Neat trick.
I have a feeling this theory ain't intended. Since "your action"" is singular not plural couldn't it be interpretated as creatable only once/turn?
You generally have one action. Referring to it as singular is normal because you only ever have one.
But we specifically are modifying the normal general flow of action. If we action surge, we have a specific exception to the normal general case of having only one action.
That isn't against RAI. Action surge is intended to be an exception to the rule of being limited to one action a turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I see that this sound in theory very awesome. Creating multiple beams in 1 turn can break the game in my honest opinion. However I would like a D&D beyond moderator to confirm if this is accurate.
Please reply when you can!
There are two different actions regarding sunbeam:
When the sorcerer Casts the spell he is indeed casting a spell, the casting time of one action can be quicked to a bonus action the on doing so the action can not be used to cast another spell unless it is a cantrip.
On subsequant rounds if Sunbeam is still up he can create a new line of radiance, this is not casting a spell as such it can not be quickened (quickened spell changes the casting time not the time for subsequant actions using the spell) but he is able to cast a levelled spell with a bonus action (either using quickened spell or casting a spell that normally has a casting time of a bonus action) and use his action to move the line of radiance. As Sunbeam is a concentration spell if he uses his bonus action to cast another concentration spell the sunbeam spell will end. I can not see how you can have multiple beams in one turn.
A similar (and more common) situation is a cleric casting spiritual weapon. On the round he casts the spell (as a bonus action) he can not cast a levelled spell with his action but on subsequant turns he can use his bonus action to attack with the spirutual weapon and his action to cast a (levelled) spell.
On the first round. Because the spell says "any round" then you should be able to quicken the casting and then use your action to create a new line.
I would assume that it is not intended but I'm not sure it's broken enough to ban.
RAW yes - as Thezzaruz said - if a sorcerer quickens Sunbeam on their turn to cast as a bonus action they can use their action on the same turn to trigger it again.
"A beam of brilliant light flashes out from your hand in a 5-foot-wide, 60-foot-long line. Each creature in the line must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 6d8
radiant damage and is blinded until your next turn. On a successful save, it takes half as much damage and isn't blinded by this spell. Undead and oozes have disadvantage on this saving throw.
You can create a new line of radiance as your action on any turn until the spell ends."
... but honestly, it is only 6d8 damage for a 6th level spell so I don't really see any big issue with a sorcerer getting to trigger it twice in one turn. The area of effect is also a bit more challenging to use since I find line effect spells are usually difficult to place to get a large fraction of the opponents.
The only thing you would not be able to do is cast sunbeam as a quickened spell, and then cast sunbeam again as an action spell on the same turn. I understand that this is not what you are asking about, and this would not be an efficient thing to do even if it was possible, so you are good to go the way you described it.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
You could theoretically activate it three times. Quickened cast - activates it as a BA. the use your Action to activate the spell again. Then action Surge to activate it a 3rd time. Neat trick.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
As far as I can tell from the spell description, he's correct. You could certainly rule as a DM that it's only once per turn, though.
I have a feeling this theory ain't intended. Since "your action"" is singular not plural couldn't it be interpretated as creatable only once/turn?
Most things are worded on the assumption you have one action, even something like dash is worded in a similar way only considering dashing once per turn, not only can you dash twice with action surge rogues and monks can also dash twice using a bonus action.
Also I think most of the itentions were based around single classes. I am not even sure if the designers considered that a dip in fighter would allow casters to cast two levelled spells on their turn, maybe they did but they certainly wouldn't have considered how a dip in figher and a choice of quickened meta-magic interact with every single individual spell.
RAI you may be right. Seems like the same reading we can apply to witch bolt using the phrase "your action.".
EDIT: At the same time, I'm not sure that it's really a problem. If the right kind of multiclass character wants to nova with a triple sunbeam by using a spell slot, their metamagic, their action, bonus action, and action surge, it's a pretty big investment and the payoff feels proportional IMO.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Good find same wording effect!
Dash has no similar wording such as "your action" but it's true that the game assumes "your action" as the one you can take and most effect use wording "as an action" in comparison
But in the end wether it's your (regular) action or the additional one from Action Surge, you can create a new line of radiance as your action with any action you have i guess. I woundn't try to make a distinction between your regular action and your additional one, both should be valid for anything usable as your action.
You generally have one action. Referring to it as singular is normal because you only ever have one.
But we specifically are modifying the normal general flow of action. If we action surge, we have a specific exception to the normal general case of having only one action.
That isn't against RAI. Action surge is intended to be an exception to the rule of being limited to one action a turn.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.