I'm playing a Ranger/Fighter right now and noticed an interesting interaction (at least the way my DM and I interpret this).
Dread Ambusher from Gloom Stalker allows me to make an extra attack if I attack with my action, on first turn. (Exact wording: At the start of your first turn of each combat, your walking speed increases by 10 feet, which lasts until the end of that turn. If you take the attack action on that turn, you can make one additional weapon attack as part of that action). Action surge then gives me another action, during which I can do this again. So, I get 4 attacks in the first turn, two of which hit extra. So... niiiiice. Just sharing here in case anyone else is inspired by it.
It'll also become 6 attacks when I get Extra Attack on one of them.
Yea Dread Ambusher specifically gives you a free attack when you take the Attack action - and Action Surge does give you another go at it.
My question would be whether any DM would allow Dread Ambusher to give a free attack when someone takes the Attack action using Haste. Haste generally limits you to only one attack (for the purposes of ignoring Extra Attacks) - but Dread Ambusher specifically gives you another if you take the Attack action - which you are taking if you attack using the Hasted action.
So which would take precedence? Haste's limit on 1 attack - or Dread Ambusher's free attack?
Gloomstalker+AS is clear, and I agree with Emmber’s explanation.
The GS+Haste question is much less clear, it’s two “specific” exceptions to the general action economy rules, and hard to see which is more “general” than the other.
Yeah I would rule no on haste, since it specifies one attack only. What about all 3 in one turn? Without Extra, it would be 5 hits, with Extra, 7. But just the one extra attack might be more useful on someone who hits harder.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm playing a Ranger/Fighter right now and noticed an interesting interaction (at least the way my DM and I interpret this).
Dread Ambusher from Gloom Stalker allows me to make an extra attack if I attack with my action, on first turn. (Exact wording: At the start of your first turn of each combat, your walking speed increases by 10 feet, which lasts until the end of that turn. If you take the attack action on that turn, you can make one additional weapon attack as part of that action). Action surge then gives me another action, during which I can do this again. So, I get 4 attacks in the first turn, two of which hit extra. So... niiiiice. Just sharing here in case anyone else is inspired by it.
It'll also become 6 attacks when I get Extra Attack on one of them.
Yea Dread Ambusher specifically gives you a free attack when you take the Attack action - and Action Surge does give you another go at it.
My question would be whether any DM would allow Dread Ambusher to give a free attack when someone takes the Attack action using Haste. Haste generally limits you to only one attack (for the purposes of ignoring Extra Attacks) - but Dread Ambusher specifically gives you another if you take the Attack action - which you are taking if you attack using the Hasted action.
So which would take precedence? Haste's limit on 1 attack - or Dread Ambusher's free attack?
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Gloomstalker+AS is clear, and I agree with Emmber’s explanation.
The GS+Haste question is much less clear, it’s two “specific” exceptions to the general action economy rules, and hard to see which is more “general” than the other.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Yeah I would rule no on haste, since it specifies one attack only. What about all 3 in one turn? Without Extra, it would be 5 hits, with Extra, 7. But just the one extra attack might be more useful on someone who hits harder.