So, to avoid being one shotted by the small chance I have, for every spell I cast, to cast fireball on myself when playing my Wild Magic Sorcerer, I thought of taking the Absorb Element spell from Xanathar's. Although, considering it's a level 1 spell and will most likely be triggered as a result of a level 1 spell I launch on the same turn, can I really use it that way? The other guys in the party seems to think I can't, although it's never stated anywhere in the PHB that you can't cast several leveled spells on a single turn, simply that you can't cast a leveled spell as a bonus action and one as an action on the same turn. My DM gets my point and says it's possible to counterspell the enemy's counterspell to our own spell on our turn, but I'm wondering if it really works the same? Just so you don't have to open your book just for that, here's what Absorb element does :
Casting time. :1 reaction, which you take when you take acid, cold, fire, lightning or thunder damage
Range:Self
Components : S
Duration :1 round
The spell captures some of the incoming energy, lessening its effects on you and storing it for your next melee attack. You have resistance to the triggering damage type until the start of your next turn. Also, the first time you hit with a melee attack on your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 damage of the triggering type, and the spell ends.
Higher level. extra damage 1d6 per spell slot higher than lvl 1
(Sorry if there is any spelling mistake, it was copied by hand from the book)
This is valid (you can take reactions on your turn)...but, if you have used a bonus action on the same turn, or another reaction in the round, you would not be able to use this spell (so if you trigger that fireball using Misty Step, you’re SOL)
Also, what if I use my bonus action first to give myself spell slots with sorcery points, then cast a spell that triggers fireball on self? Since I did use my bonus action, just not as a spell, would I still be able to cast my absorb element?
Using a bonus action for anything else that is not casting a spell, is fine.
The rule about only casting cantrips for other actions on turn applies only if you cast a spell as a bonus action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Well, I think that settles it. My DM also checked about it on his side and reached pretty much the same conclusion. Thank you very much for your answers, both of you!
So, to avoid being one shotted by the small chance I have, for every spell I cast, to cast fireball on myself when playing my Wild Magic Sorcerer, I thought of taking the Absorb Element spell from Xanathar's. Although, considering it's a level 1 spell and will most likely be triggered as a result of a level 1 spell I launch on the same turn, can I really use it that way? The other guys in the party seems to think I can't, although it's never stated anywhere in the PHB that you can't cast several leveled spells on a single turn, simply that you can't cast a leveled spell as a bonus action and one as an action on the same turn. My DM gets my point and says it's possible to counterspell the enemy's counterspell to our own spell on our turn, but I'm wondering if it really works the same? Just so you don't have to open your book just for that, here's what Absorb element does :
This is valid (you can take reactions on your turn)...but, if you have used a bonus action on the same turn, or another reaction in the round, you would not be able to use this spell (so if you trigger that fireball using Misty Step, you’re SOL)
Thanks for the answer!
Also, what if I use my bonus action first to give myself spell slots with sorcery points, then cast a spell that triggers fireball on self? Since I did use my bonus action, just not as a spell, would I still be able to cast my absorb element?
Using a bonus action for anything else that is not casting a spell, is fine.
The rule about only casting cantrips for other actions on turn applies only if you cast a spell as a bonus action.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Well, I think that settles it. My DM also checked about it on his side and reached pretty much the same conclusion. Thank you very much for your answers, both of you!
This is right, my comment was unclear on the bonus action rule (only spells, other bonus action are fine)