It is a DM's call, but the Natural Armor feature of Lizardfolk and Tortle is due to physical aspects (scales and shell, respectively) that are not carried over in wild shape.
The relevant rule is "You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so".
This does have some degree of subjectivity, but for the Tortle, it seems pretty clear that the shell is part of the tortle form. If the new form also has a gigantic turtle shell, okay, then sure — but that's not likely in most cases.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
It is a race ability and most beast have natral armor.
I know the withdrawal ability is no go unless new form has a shell but it just seems your using a better natral armor
It is a DM's call, but the Natural Armor feature of Lizardfolk and Tortle is due to physical aspects (scales and shell, respectively) that are not carried over in wild shape.
I know it seems a little weird or arbitrary which abilities stay or go.
I mean a Dragonborn can breath elemental in any form.
Class abilities are always available: Dragonblood Sorcerer, Warlock with mage armor, Unarmored Defense all are usable in Wildshape.
Racial abilities are hit or miss on GM discretion, as for AL play no idea.
A Warforged Druid might argue they want to keep thier +1 AC. A GM might be ok with that but say all their forms look mechanical.
Lizardfolk, Hungry Jaws probably it's viable as long as the new form has a bite attack.
The relevant rule is "You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so".
This does have some degree of subjectivity, but for the Tortle, it seems pretty clear that the shell is part of the tortle form. If the new form also has a gigantic turtle shell, okay, then sure — but that's not likely in most cases.