Why can’t he quicken Lightning Lure (a cantrip), then cast Vampiric Touch?
He can; if he simply applies the quicken to the Vampiric Touch instead.
Why did they design it this way? Idk. There is very little abuse you could introduce if you just had a 1 leveled spell per turn rule instead of the one that exists as-is. It'd be simpler, that's for sure. But that's not what they wrote in the rulebook. So we're stuck with the strange "must be cantrip with 1 action" rule for if you BA cast any spells.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
He can; if he simply applies the quicken to the Vampiric Touch instead.
Why did they design it this way? Idk. There is very little abuse you could introduce if you just had a 1 leveled spell per turn rule instead of the one that exists as-is. It'd be simpler, that's for sure. But that's not what they wrote in the rulebook. So we're stuck with the strange "must be cantrip with 1 action" rule for if you BA cast any spells.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.