So I hope that this isn't too silly of a question but my chromatic orb cantrip requires a diamond of a value of at least 50 GP to cast. Do I have to have a new diamond for each casting or do I just have to own one? The phrasing of the spell, at lest to me, implies that I have to have one for each casting and that could get very expensive. If it does require a new diamond for each casting, are there other spells have a similar upkeep?
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in chapter 5, “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.
If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell.
Chromatic Orb doesn't specify that its component is consumed unlike, say, Revivify.
So I hope that this isn't too silly of a question but my chromatic orb cantrip requires a diamond of a value of at least 50 GP to cast. Do I have to have a new diamond for each casting or do I just have to own one? The phrasing of the spell, at lest to me, implies that I have to have one for each casting and that could get very expensive. If it does require a new diamond for each casting, are there other spells have a similar upkeep?
From Player's Handbook/Basic Rules Chapter 10:
Chromatic Orb doesn't specify that its component is consumed unlike, say, Revivify.
The Forum Infestation (TM)