Hi guys... I am currently preparing to play my first DND Campaign.... My character will be a Battlemaster fighter. One of my friends wants to play a dual wielding Hexblade. Since he can't speak english I am trying to help him. So.... He is playing a variant human with costoum background. We are using 2014 rules. It is my understanding that the hexblade bonus will only Work for the pact weapon that he gets at level one. But at level 3 he can take pact of the Blade and have two pact weapons using charisma to Attack. So, with this he only needs to carry to level 3 to get full use of dual wielding and Two weapon fighting.
Hi guys... I am currently preparing to play my first DND Campaign.... My character will be a Battlemaster fighter. One of my friends wants to play a dual wielding Hexblade. Since he can't speak english I am trying to help him. So.... He is playing a variant human with costoum background. We are using 2014 rules. It is my understanding that the hexblade bonus will only Work for the pact weapon that he gets at level one. But at level 3 he can take pact of the Blade and have two pact weapons using charisma to Attack. So, with this he only needs to carry to level 3 to get full use of dual wielding and Two weapon fighting.
Am I right?
Thanks for the help
Sort of. You can't have two Pact Weapons, because Pact of the Blade specifically says that if you use it on a second weapon, the effect ends on the first weapon.
However, you can have one Pact Weapon that fully benefits from both Pact of the Blade and Hex Warrior, and a second weapon that only benefits from Hex Warrior. The second weapon needs to be a real weapon that you are proficient with, while the first one can be any type of weapon conjured out of nothing with Pact of the Blade. The Pact Weapon counts as magical while the Hex Weapon does not. Both use Charisma for attack and damage rolls.
Also note that both weapons need to be Light, one-handed weapons to use two-weapon fighting. This means that the best damage die you're going to get out of either of them is 1d6.
Ok. He is thinking of using one real weapon with pact of the Blade and conjure the hex one. That said, with two weapon fighting and dual wield feat, I think he can use weapons (not Two handed weapons, but like two longswords), using charisma for attack and damage.
Ok. He is thinking of using one real weapon with pact of the Blade and conjure the hex one. That said, with two weapon fighting and dual wield feat, I think he can use weapons (not Two handed weapons, but like two longswords), using charisma for attack and damage.
Am I right?
I think he’s got it backwards there; Pact of the Blade is the thing that lets you conjure a weapon out of nothing. The Hex weapon has to be real.
Under 2014 rules, if he has the Dual Wielder feat, then the weapons don’t need to be Light, so two longswords would be valid. Under 2024 rules, one still has to be Light.
Hi guys... I am currently preparing to play my first DND Campaign.... My character will be a Battlemaster fighter. One of my friends wants to play a dual wielding Hexblade. Since he can't speak english I am trying to help him. So.... He is playing a variant human with costoum background. We are using 2014 rules. It is my understanding that the hexblade bonus will only Work for the pact weapon that he gets at level one. But at level 3 he can take pact of the Blade and have two pact weapons using charisma to Attack. So, with this he only needs to carry to level 3 to get full use of dual wielding and Two weapon fighting.
Am I right?
Thanks for the help
Sort of. You can't have two Pact Weapons, because Pact of the Blade specifically says that if you use it on a second weapon, the effect ends on the first weapon.
However, you can have one Pact Weapon that fully benefits from both Pact of the Blade and Hex Warrior, and a second weapon that only benefits from Hex Warrior. The second weapon needs to be a real weapon that you are proficient with, while the first one can be any type of weapon conjured out of nothing with Pact of the Blade. The Pact Weapon counts as magical while the Hex Weapon does not. Both use Charisma for attack and damage rolls.
Also note that both weapons need to be Light, one-handed weapons to use two-weapon fighting. This means that the best damage die you're going to get out of either of them is 1d6.
pronouns: he/she/they
Ok. He is thinking of using one real weapon with pact of the Blade and conjure the hex one. That said, with two weapon fighting and dual wield feat, I think he can use weapons (not Two handed weapons, but like two longswords), using charisma for attack and damage.
Am I right?
I think he’s got it backwards there; Pact of the Blade is the thing that lets you conjure a weapon out of nothing. The Hex weapon has to be real.
Under 2014 rules, if he has the Dual Wielder feat, then the weapons don’t need to be Light, so two longswords would be valid. Under 2024 rules, one still has to be Light.
pronouns: he/she/they
Yes.... You are correct.... But, can he use charisma for both?
Yes.
pronouns: he/she/they