Tenser's Transformation grants, among other things, proficiency with all armor. I'm somewhat confused as to how useful that is, though, given that getting into medium armor takes 5 minutes, which is half the spell's duration, and getting into heavy armor takes the entire spell's duration. You can't don it before, since if you lack proficiency with it, you can't cast spells. Is there any way to actually use the armor proficiency granted by the spell?
Extended Spell metamagic? Casting the spell 5 minutes before you get in a fight and using that time to don medium armor? Other than those--and the first requires multiclassing or similar shenanigans--you're probably just going to wear a shield.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Tenser's Transformation grants, among other things, proficiency with all armor. I'm somewhat confused as to how useful that is, though, given that getting into medium armor takes 5 minutes, which is half the spell's duration, and getting into heavy armor takes the entire spell's duration. You can't don it before, since if you lack proficiency with it, you can't cast spells. Is there any way to actually use the armor proficiency granted by the spell?
If you wear armor that you lack proficiency with, you have disadvantage on any ability check, saving throw, or attack roll that involves Strength or Dexterity, and you can’t cast spells.
(Player's Handbook, page 144)
The rules are designed so that it's not a good idea to regularly wear armour you're not proficient with, but they give you the option for when you really need the AC more than you need your abilities, attacks, or spells.
This spell cancels out page 144 there. You can already use the armor. You just can’t cast the spell on yourself.
Tenser's Transformation grants, among other things, proficiency with all armor. I'm somewhat confused as to how useful that is, though, given that getting into medium armor takes 5 minutes, which is half the spell's duration, and getting into heavy armor takes the entire spell's duration. You can't don it before, since if you lack proficiency with it, you can't cast spells. Is there any way to actually use the armor proficiency granted by the spell?
If you wear armor that you lack proficiency with, you have disadvantage on any ability check, saving throw, or attack roll that involves Strength or Dexterity, and you can’t cast spells.
(Player's Handbook, page 144)
The rules are designed so that it's not a good idea to regularly wear armour you're not proficient with, but they give you the option for when you really need the AC more than you need your abilities, attacks, or spells.
This spell cancels out page 144 there. You can already use the armor. You just can’t cast the spell on yourself.
It has a range of "Self", though, so nobody else can cast it on you.
And as a 6th level you can’t put it in a ring of spell storing either.
And once the spell is cast you can’t cast spells either....
I wonder if you have to pair it in this manner with the “clone” spell. For best effect. As a clone of yourself is still yourself.
I don't think you can cast "Self" spells on a clone. :p
Honestly, it just feels like an oversight, a spell granting you a feature you can realistically not use, at least not without going through some substantial hoops. Can't cast the spell while wearing heavy armor, but it (normally) takes just as long to don heavy armor as the spell lasts. If you're already proficient with heavy armor, then you can cast the spell, but it's granting you something you already have. The spell is self-only, so nobody else can cast the spell on you. Can't cast the spell from a scroll, since that's still casting (does not circumvent "can't cast while wearing armor you're not proficient with").
Unusable armor proficiencies aside, the ability to hulk out, grab a sword and board or bow, attack with advantage, twice, each dealing 2d12 extra force damage, with extra save proficiencies and temporary hit points is not nothing.
Its not an oversight, precisely, its a just another poor translation from earlier editions. (Which also had magic armour that could be teleported onto you making the spell more popular) It was never a great spell though, a wizard deciding to mix it up in melee and losing spell casting are all from previous editions as well. The best / worst use of it was because self spells could extend to familiars, turning it into a tank that you could have armoured. This is no longer possible so if there are other options to make it effective please list them here I would love to know.
The only one I can think of doesn't involve the armour so much as the extra attack and a friend polymorphing you into a creature with one horror show attack for double the fun. When you factor in that the two types of attacks in the game are weapon or spell you get the hilarity of the two attack trex with a 6d12 bite and temporary hitpoints - Tensers TREX of terror is born.
JC has said that officially this isn’t allowed but if your DM house rules it, it would work.
The Ready action allows you to cast a spell and then hold it until the trigger occurs. RAW you only lose the spell if you lose concentration. (JC says the officially, the spell dissipates if not used before your next turn. IMO he pulled this out of thin air but he was probably trying to avoid situations like this.)
Cast the spell and hold it. Put on the armor. Release the spell.
I don’t know how to add a link but BeyondMisty provided a link to a Sage Advice Twitter discussion under Rules and Game Mechanics > Holding a Readied Spell
If you don’t want to search for it, the short version is that Jeremy Crawford said that spells cast with the Ready action dissipate if not used before your next turn but that he house rules that you can continue to hold the spell if the trigger doesn’t occur before your next turn. I’m not sure if his house rule requires using your action each turn to hold the spell or not. Since donning a shield requires an action, if holding a spell is house ruled as requiring your action each round then this idea doesn’t help much with Tenser’s Transformation.
Gracias! so you were refering to tensers / armour donning, yeah. There isnt currently a good way to end up wearing armour quickly with current abilities available (although I havent seen dragon heist yet so maybe there is something in there! Ah well Tonio, you can still have your Tenser Trex of Terror.
If you were to store the spell in a glyph, as per Glyph of Warding spell, you could choose to activate the spell at a later time (presumably after donning armor) with the added benefit of not needing to concentrate on the spell. Set it up in a Demiplane with a conveniently placed set of armor and weaponry of choice and you're set.
Tenser's Transformation grants, among other things, proficiency with all armor. I'm somewhat confused as to how useful that is, though, given that getting into medium armor takes 5 minutes, which is half the spell's duration, and getting into heavy armor takes the entire spell's duration. You can't don it before, since if you lack proficiency with it, you can't cast spells. Is there any way to actually use the armor proficiency granted by the spell?
Extended Spell metamagic? Casting the spell 5 minutes before you get in a fight and using that time to don medium armor? Other than those--and the first requires multiclassing or similar shenanigans--you're probably just going to wear a shield.
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Tooltips (Help/aid)
If someone helps you, the time to don armor is cut in half.
(Player's Handbook, page 144)
The rules are designed so that it's not a good idea to regularly wear armour you're not proficient with, but they give you the option for when you really need the AC more than you need your abilities, attacks, or spells.
This spell cancels out page 144 there. You can already use the armor. You just can’t cast the spell on yourself.
Blank
It has a range of "Self", though, so nobody else can cast it on you.
And as a 6th level you can’t put it in a ring of spell storing either.
And once the spell is cast you can’t cast spells either....
I wonder if you have to pair it in this manner with the “clone” spell. For best effect. As a clone of yourself is still yourself.
Blank
the most ridiculas part is the concentration required for it and please ignore spelling im tired and lazy lol.
I don't think you can cast "Self" spells on a clone. :p
Honestly, it just feels like an oversight, a spell granting you a feature you can realistically not use, at least not without going through some substantial hoops. Can't cast the spell while wearing heavy armor, but it (normally) takes just as long to don heavy armor as the spell lasts. If you're already proficient with heavy armor, then you can cast the spell, but it's granting you something you already have. The spell is self-only, so nobody else can cast the spell on you. Can't cast the spell from a scroll, since that's still casting (does not circumvent "can't cast while wearing armor you're not proficient with").
The “self” on clone is the only thing I can think of. Otherwise it’s a really poorly made spell
Blank
Unusable armor proficiencies aside, the ability to hulk out, grab a sword and board or bow, attack with advantage, twice, each dealing 2d12 extra force damage, with extra save proficiencies and temporary hit points is not nothing.
Its not an oversight, precisely, its a just another poor translation from earlier editions. (Which also had magic armour that could be teleported onto you making the spell more popular) It was never a great spell though, a wizard deciding to mix it up in melee and losing spell casting are all from previous editions as well. The best / worst use of it was because self spells could extend to familiars, turning it into a tank that you could have armoured. This is no longer possible so if there are other options to make it effective please list them here I would love to know.
The only one I can think of doesn't involve the armour so much as the extra attack and a friend polymorphing you into a creature with one horror show attack for double the fun. When you factor in that the two types of attacks in the game are weapon or spell you get the hilarity of the two attack trex with a 6d12 bite and temporary hitpoints - Tensers TREX of terror is born.
JC has said that officially this isn’t allowed but if your DM house rules it, it would work.
The Ready action allows you to cast a spell and then hold it until the trigger occurs. RAW you only lose the spell if you lose concentration. (JC says the officially, the spell dissipates if not used before your next turn. IMO he pulled this out of thin air but he was probably trying to avoid situations like this.)
Cast the spell and hold it. Put on the armor. Release the spell.
Trirhabda please could you clear up what you refer to regarding officially allowed? thankyou!
I don’t know how to add a link but BeyondMisty provided a link to a Sage Advice Twitter discussion under Rules and Game Mechanics > Holding a Readied Spell
If you don’t want to search for it, the short version is that Jeremy Crawford said that spells cast with the Ready action dissipate if not used before your next turn but that he house rules that you can continue to hold the spell if the trigger doesn’t occur before your next turn. I’m not sure if his house rule requires using your action each turn to hold the spell or not. Since donning a shield requires an action, if holding a spell is house ruled as requiring your action each round then this idea doesn’t help much with Tenser’s Transformation.
Gracias! so you were refering to tensers / armour donning, yeah. There isnt currently a good way to end up wearing armour quickly with current abilities available (although I havent seen dragon heist yet so maybe there is something in there! Ah well Tonio, you can still have your Tenser Trex of Terror.
Wouldn't contingency work?
Nope, contingency only works on level 5 and lower spells.
When a spellcaster sleeps with his statue of himself lol
If you were to store the spell in a glyph, as per Glyph of Warding spell, you could choose to activate the spell at a later time (presumably after donning armor) with the added benefit of not needing to concentrate on the spell. Set it up in a Demiplane with a conveniently placed set of armor and weaponry of choice and you're set.
skill empowerment to to put on armor or wear elven chain.