1. Does anyone know how the links will work? Specifically, I'm thinking of monsters in published adventures, will they lead me to the 2014e MM or the 2024e MM statblocks?
2. If you are swallowed by something, are you "carried" by it? The specific circumstances are that half the party have been swallowed by a Remorhaz, and a player is thinking of casting Enlarge/Reduce. The spell says "everything" that a creature "carries" is affected, those two words are the key points as to whether the characters that have been swallowed would be affected or not. The spell technically affects the inside of the Remorhaz.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
1. I imagine things that are different will have a new copy with a tag in the name, like they've done before with MotM reprints.
2. DM call but personally I would not consider this being carried, because that would open exploits. If you can carry creatures for the purposes of a spell then that means your strong barbarian can pick up - and therefore be carrying - your lithe elf - and have them both enlarged/reduced by a single casting of the spell at its base level. It seems the RAI is "carried objects" not carried creatures.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
1. Does anyone know how the links will work? Specifically, I'm thinking of monsters in published adventures, will they lead me to the 2014e MM or the 2024e MM statblocks?
2. If you are swallowed by something, are you "carried" by it? The specific circumstances are that half the party have been swallowed by a Remorhaz, and a player is thinking of casting Enlarge/Reduce. The spell says "everything" that a creature "carries" is affected, those two words are the key points as to whether the characters that have been swallowed would be affected or not. The spell technically affects the inside of the Remorhaz.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
1. I imagine things that are different will have a new copy with a tag in the name, like they've done before with MotM reprints.
2. DM call but personally I would not consider this being carried, because that would open exploits. If you can carry creatures for the purposes of a spell then that means your strong barbarian can pick up - and therefore be carrying - your lithe elf - and have them both enlarged/reduced by a single casting of the spell at its base level. It seems the RAI is "carried objects" not carried creatures.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.