The description for Instant Fortress is clear, "The cube rapidly grows into a fortress that remains until you use an action to speak the command word that dismisses it, which works only if the fortress is empty."
Why does my character sheet in D&D Beyond treat it as a container in my inventory? It gets it's own tab with a prompt to "+ Add items to your Instant Fortress".
I guess you could set it up somewhere as a keep and leave it there, but you can leave stuff in a mundane keep as well. I don't see tab for that.
When I first saw the tab on my sheet, I thought that they had changed the rule about it needing to be empty.
You mean Mordenkainen's Private Sanctum, presumably because you can store stuff in it. While the spell is active, it is a protected area, so not the craziest thing to store things in there. Additionally it also has the ability to be made permanent if cast in the same spot daily for 365 days.
My first thought is, don’t go by dndbeyond, go by the book if there’s a conflict.
My second one is, I guess, we get into hair-splitting about the definition of “empty.” I think the OP is reading it like, if you put a chair in it, it is no longer empty. So you couldn’t really shrink it down and use it for long-term storage like a bag of holding on steroids.
But you could also see empty to mean no creatures, but you can stuff objects in there no problem. Seems like a RAW vs RAI, and even then it could be unclear. So, I guess it’s basically going to be a DM ruling.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The description for Instant Fortress is clear, "The cube rapidly grows into a fortress that remains until you use an action to speak the command word that dismisses it, which works only if the fortress is empty."
Why does my character sheet in D&D Beyond treat it as a container in my inventory? It gets it's own tab with a prompt to "+ Add items to your Instant Fortress".
I guess you could set it up somewhere as a keep and leave it there, but you can leave stuff in a mundane keep as well. I don't see tab for that.
When I first saw the tab on my sheet, I thought that they had changed the rule about it needing to be empty.
You mean Mordenkainen's Private Sanctum, presumably because you can store stuff in it. While the spell is active, it is a protected area, so not the craziest thing to store things in there. Additionally it also has the ability to be made permanent if cast in the same spot daily for 365 days.
I think they are referring to this magic item: https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/4663-instant-fortress
Instant Fortress
Ah, I stand corrected, but same deal, it's an area that can store things.
My first thought is, don’t go by dndbeyond, go by the book if there’s a conflict.
My second one is, I guess, we get into hair-splitting about the definition of “empty.” I think the OP is reading it like, if you put a chair in it, it is no longer empty. So you couldn’t really shrink it down and use it for long-term storage like a bag of holding on steroids.
But you could also see empty to mean no creatures, but you can stuff objects in there no problem. Seems like a RAW vs RAI, and even then it could be unclear. So, I guess it’s basically going to be a DM ruling.