I am going to be playing a warlock pact of the genie soon. My question is if I was to pick up a bag of holding could I bring said bag into my genie vessel?
Yes. Bags of holding, Portable holes, and Heward's Handy Haversacks are the items that can't be placed into each other. Other pocket planes, dimensional spaces are ok.
The reason the devs made that rule was to prevent someone from taking 10 bags of holding and placing them into each other to get unlimited storage space.
If you look at the wording of Bag of Holding, Portable Hole, and Heward's Handy Haversack they only list each other as prohibited and "other similar". Each of those are magic items created for portable storage. So as long as you are not placing the bag of holding into another extra-dimensional portable storage device, you are fine. The genie vessel doesn't qualify as an extra-dimensional portable storage device because it has limits on how often it can be accessed (it's a home, or refuge, not an easily exploitable storage device).
I am going to be playing a warlock pact of the genie soon. My question is if I was to pick up a bag of holding could I bring said bag into my genie vessel?
Yes. Bags of holding, Portable holes, and Heward's Handy Haversacks are the items that can't be placed into each other. Other pocket planes, dimensional spaces are ok.
The reason the devs made that rule was to prevent someone from taking 10 bags of holding and placing them into each other to get unlimited storage space.
If you look at the wording of Bag of Holding, Portable Hole, and Heward's Handy Haversack they only list each other as prohibited and "other similar". Each of those are magic items created for portable storage. So as long as you are not placing the bag of holding into another extra-dimensional portable storage device, you are fine. The genie vessel doesn't qualify as an extra-dimensional portable storage device because it has limits on how often it can be accessed (it's a home, or refuge, not an easily exploitable storage device).
Playing D&D since 1982
Have played every version of the game since Basic (original Red Box Set), except that abomination sometimes called 4e.
Thanks that clarifies things I appreciate it