You don’t apply an arcane shot to the blow until after the shot has successfully hit the target, so there’s no reason you can’t sharpshooter a shot and then add the arcane shot effect after it hits.
Okay I just had this discussion with my DND group yesterday. The question that I have is is this, if it comes down to it does the fact that you can choose to take a -5 to your attack roll mean that you must make an attack roll? I believe that is the key to solving or answering this problem does the taking a -5 mean that you have to roll an attack roll? Because I know of other rules that will explicitly tell you you cannot stack this with this or it cannot be used with that, but in this situation it does not say that. So Raw I believe it can be done
Since sharpshooter says to take -5 to the attack roll to get the +10 to damage, it does not apply to the two arcane shots that do not have an attack roll. (Piercing and seeking) It can be used with all the others though. Up to the DM on whether to add 10 damage to all creatures that take damage from bursting arrow. RAW vs RAI debate there.
Is sharpshooter void when using an Arcane shot?
The Forum Infestation (TM)
But does on ones that do? That'll make my player very happy.
If there is a ranged (non-spell) attack involved, sharpshooter can be used, according to how the feat is worded.
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
You don’t apply an arcane shot to the blow until after the shot has successfully hit the target, so there’s no reason you can’t sharpshooter a shot and then add the arcane shot effect after it hits.
Okay I just had this discussion with my DND group yesterday. The question that I have is is this, if it comes down to it does the fact that you can choose to take a -5 to your attack roll mean that you must make an attack roll? I believe that is the key to solving or answering this problem does the taking a -5 mean that you have to roll an attack roll? Because I know of other rules that will explicitly tell you you cannot stack this with this or it cannot be used with that, but in this situation it does not say that. So Raw I believe it can be done
Since sharpshooter says to take -5 to the attack roll to get the +10 to damage, it does not apply to the two arcane shots that do not have an attack roll. (Piercing and seeking) It can be used with all the others though. Up to the DM on whether to add 10 damage to all creatures that take damage from bursting arrow. RAW vs RAI debate there.
The damage from Bursting Arrow isn't part of the attack. You don't deal double damage if the attack crits either.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
True. I overlooked the sentence where it specifically calls out that the bursting damage happens after the attack.