Hello everyone, Can a player use their Inspiration after a failed roll to roll again and choose the higher roll?
Inspiration says that a player can use it to get advantage on a roll. Based on the rules for Advantage, I would guess not. But I would like to believe otherwise as Inspiration seems like more of a saving grace type of thing.
I don't think so because usually, if a feature (such as Bardic Inspiration) can effect a die roll, it tells you if you can see what the original roll was.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Devious serpent folk devoid of compassion, yuan-ti manipulate other creatures by arousing their doubts, evoking their fears, and elevating and crushing their hopes. From remote temples in jungles, swamps, and deserts, the yuan-ti plot to supplant and dominate all other races and to make themselves gods.
Hello everyone,
Can a player use their Inspiration after a failed roll to roll again and choose the higher roll?
Inspiration says that a player can use it to get advantage on a roll. Based on the rules for Advantage, I would guess not. But I would like to believe otherwise as Inspiration seems like more of a saving grace type of thing.
I don't think so because usually, if a feature (such as Bardic Inspiration) can effect a die roll, it tells you if you can see what the original roll was.
Devious serpent folk devoid of compassion, yuan-ti manipulate other creatures by arousing their doubts, evoking their fears, and elevating and crushing their hopes. From remote temples in jungles, swamps, and deserts, the yuan-ti plot to supplant and dominate all other races and to make themselves gods.
Inspiration must be declared BEFORE the roll is attempted.
It's a way of making a decision that THIS roll is really important, so you get advantage.
I've heard of DMs using a homebrew solution similar to you said, where inspiration is instead a re-roll, but I think that detracts from it's use.
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
Must be declared before you roll.
There are a couple of skills for certain classes that let you choose to add / roll again after you have seen the initial roll.
Thank you guys for the replies!
Good to know the official rules. :)