I'm trying to figure out how to grant an out-of-class spell to be used as if it was a permanently learned and prepared in-class spell. I.E. it requires a spell slot to be used, and can be cast at a higher level if desired, for the increased effects of having done so. Unfortunately, I seem to only be able to grant the spell as either an at-will of base level only, or, if on an item, with charges attached.
I'm trying to figure out how to grant an out-of-class spell to be used as if it was a permanently learned and prepared in-class spell. I.E. it requires a spell slot to be used, and can be cast at a higher level if desired, for the increased effects of having done so. Unfortunately, I seem to only be able to grant the spell as either an at-will of base level only, or, if on an item, with charges attached.
Is there anyway to accomplish this?
No.
Player will have to have as at-will and remember to manually tick off a spell slot when used.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Items and feats can't do that. Copying the spell to the class spell list or using a homebrew background can make the spell learnable/prepable by the class. And subclass can add it without counting against learned/prepared spells.
I'm trying to figure out how to grant an out-of-class spell to be used as if it was a permanently learned and prepared in-class spell. I.E. it requires a spell slot to be used, and can be cast at a higher level if desired, for the increased effects of having done so. Unfortunately, I seem to only be able to grant the spell as either an at-will of base level only, or, if on an item, with charges attached.
Is there anyway to accomplish this?
No.
Player will have to have as at-will and remember to manually tick off a spell slot when used.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Can't you just create a homebrew copy of the spell and add the class you want to give it to in the AVAILABLE FOR CLASS(ES) section ?
I did a test by creating a Fairy Fire for Wizards and it looks like it's working.
Edit: DOH! I just read your title more carefully. Sorry :p
Freedom without Laws is Anarchy... Laws without Freedom is Tyranny!
There's no way to do it via item or feat. You would need to homebrew a copy of the character's subclass to accomplish what you want.
Items and feats can't do that. Copying the spell to the class spell list or using a homebrew background can make the spell learnable/prepable by the class. And subclass can add it without counting against learned/prepared spells.
Sorry for delayed response - thanks for the answers. I'll use one of these to make it work. :)