uh, yes? You gain the abilities of the creature (barring certain things like legendary actions) So if the creature can eat a guy so can you. Also, if the ability dosnt say that you cant make another bite after having eaten a creature then you would be able to do so.
The Swallow Action has within it a Bite Attack. So with one action using Swallow, you do a bite attack and the swallow stuff.
Swallow. The toad makes one bite attack against a Medium or smaller target it is grappling. If the attack hits, the target is swallowed, and the grapple ends. The swallowed target is blinded and restrained, it has total cover against attacks and other effects outside the toad, and it takes 10 (3d6) acid damage at the start of each of the toad's turns. The toad can have only one target swallowed at a time. If the toad dies, a swallowed creature is no longer restrained by it and can escape from the corpse using 5 feet of movement, exiting prone.
Basically everything within a text block under action is an action. So for the Giant Frog, the following takes one action:
Swallow. The frog makes one bite attack against a Small or smaller target it is grappling. If the attack hits, the target is swallowed, and the grapple ends. The swallowed target is blinded and restrained, it has total cover against attacks and other effects outside the frog, and it takes 5 (2d4) acid damage at the start of each of the frog's turns. The frog can have only one target swallowed at a time. If the frog dies, a swallowed creature is no longer restrained by it and can escape from the corpse using 5 feet of movement, exiting prone.
If it's still confusing, the Giant Frog has 2 actions it can take on its turn; Bite and Swallow. The Swallow Action includes a bite attack within it, so the frog effectively does both things with only one action.
However, since the frog needs to be grapping the target to swallow, and the only action it can take to grapple the target is the bite action, then the bite action needs to happen first. On the next turn if the target is still grappled, the frog can do the swallow action.
Nothing in the Swallow action block suggests that you can't still use the bite action while something is swallowed.
I have a few questions about being wild shapped into the giant frog:
Bite is 1 action, so on the following turn, assuming the bite is successful, then I swallow the target on the next turn?
Can I have one creature swallowed, then bite another? (I know I can't have two creatures swallowed)
Thanks
uh, yes? You gain the abilities of the creature (barring certain things like legendary actions) So if the creature can eat a guy so can you. Also, if the ability dosnt say that you cant make another bite after having eaten a creature then you would be able to do so.
Buyers Guide for D&D Beyond - Hardcover Books, D&D Beyond and You - How/What is Toggled Content?
Everything you need to know about Homebrew - Homebrew FAQ - Digital Book on D&D Beyond Vs Physical Books
Can't find the content you are supposed to have access to? Read this FAQ.
"Play the game however you want to play the game. After all, your fun doesn't threaten my fun."
What Creature are you turning into? Giant Toad?
The Swallow Action has within it a Bite Attack. So with one action using Swallow, you do a bite attack and the swallow stuff.
They were asking about turning into a Giant Frog, but my answer was in regards to the general workings of Wildshape regardless of the creature.
Buyers Guide for D&D Beyond - Hardcover Books, D&D Beyond and You - How/What is Toggled Content?
Everything you need to know about Homebrew - Homebrew FAQ - Digital Book on D&D Beyond Vs Physical Books
Can't find the content you are supposed to have access to? Read this FAQ.
"Play the game however you want to play the game. After all, your fun doesn't threaten my fun."
Giant Frog works the same.
Basically everything within a text block under action is an action. So for the Giant Frog, the following takes one action:
If it's still confusing, the Giant Frog has 2 actions it can take on its turn; Bite and Swallow. The Swallow Action includes a bite attack within it, so the frog effectively does both things with only one action.
However, since the frog needs to be grapping the target to swallow, and the only action it can take to grapple the target is the bite action, then the bite action needs to happen first. On the next turn if the target is still grappled, the frog can do the swallow action.
Nothing in the Swallow action block suggests that you can't still use the bite action while something is swallowed.