This question is based on "Xanathar's Guide to Everything"
Assume the class of the character is Warlock, The Pact of the Warlock is the Pact of the Blade. The player has the Invocation Improved Pact Weapon.
The following is a Quote from Xanathar's Guide to Everything
IMPROVED PACT WEAPON Prerequisite: Pact of the Blade
You can use any weapon you summon with your Pact of the Blade feature as a spell casting focus for your Warlock spells. In addition, the weapon gains a +1 bonus to its attack and damage rolls, unless it is a magic weapon that already has a bonus to those rolls. Finally, the weapon you conjure can be a short bow, longbow, light crossbow, or heavy crossbow.
If the player chooses to summon a longbow for example do they get arrows as well? or do they need to have the ammunition in there inventory already for the bow to be usable?
The general rule of thumb is, if it doesn't say that it happens, it doesn't happen.
In this case, there is no mention of summoning ammunition, so ammunition isn't summoned.
You can always feel free to change this rule for your own campaigns as you see fit, but as standard I believe that the character will need to carry ammunition.
Agreed, no summoned ammunition. To go further with this, compare it with the Unearthed Arcana 'Moonbow' invocation that they decided to drop. That one specifically describes it generating magic arrows.
This question is based on "Xanathar's Guide to Everything"
Assume the class of the character is Warlock, The Pact of the Warlock is the Pact of the Blade. The player has the Invocation Improved Pact Weapon.
The following is a Quote from Xanathar's Guide to Everything
If the player chooses to summon a longbow for example do they get arrows as well? or do they need to have the ammunition in there inventory already for the bow to be usable?
what are your thoughts?
The general rule of thumb is, if it doesn't say that it happens, it doesn't happen.
In this case, there is no mention of summoning ammunition, so ammunition isn't summoned.
You can always feel free to change this rule for your own campaigns as you see fit, but as standard I believe that the character will need to carry ammunition.
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
This got answered by Jeremy Crawford recently:
Agreed, no summoned ammunition. To go further with this, compare it with the Unearthed Arcana 'Moonbow' invocation that they decided to drop. That one specifically describes it generating magic arrows.
Site Rules & Guidelines - Please feel free to message a moderator if you have any concerns.
My homebrew: [Subclasses] [Races] [Feats] [Discussion Thread]