Hi, so I was reviewing the Artificer subclasses with one of my players and I realized something about one of the abilities associated to the Armorer's Guardian armor style, specifically the Thunder Gauntlets feature.
The feature's weapon function is classified as a 'simple melee weapon' so a monk would be proficient with them as is, but considering that it effectively is a set of magic gloves, my question is whether or not a monk-artificer would be able to count an attack with them as an unarmed strike(punches,etc) and take advantage of the damage and other effects of the gauntlets in the use of monk class features. I understand that RAW, they would not, but I feel that there is a level of technical justification to allowing such.
I'm more hoping for clarity for the 'official' answer, which I would take into account for my own home ruling in the case my player decided to pursue this trail of leveling.
Not because Thunder Gauntlets aren't gloves (though they very much are not - there is a world of difference between a sturdily built armored gauntlet and anything we might reasonably call a 'glove'), but because Martial Arts - i.e. the monk ability that lets monks do Monk Things - doesn't work while you're wearing armor, and the Armorer Artificer's stuff explicitly requires you to be wearing armor. If you want to waive the issue for what is clearly an extremely hinky character combination that would work sketchily at best in even the most favorable circumstances? Sure. You're the DM, you do you. But since this was ruthlessly moved to R&GM where the RAW is LAW? There is no possible way to interpret RAW in a manner that allows you to use Arcane Armor and Martial Arts at the same time.
Hi, so I was reviewing the Artificer subclasses with one of my players and I realized something about one of the abilities associated to the Armorer's Guardian armor style, specifically the Thunder Gauntlets feature.
The feature's weapon function is classified as a 'simple melee weapon' so a monk would be proficient with them as is, but considering that it effectively is a set of magic gloves, my question is whether or not a monk-artificer would be able to count an attack with them as an unarmed strike(punches,etc) and take advantage of the damage and other effects of the gauntlets in the use of monk class features. I understand that RAW, they would not, but I feel that there is a level of technical justification to allowing such.
I'm more hoping for clarity for the 'official' answer, which I would take into account for my own home ruling in the case my player decided to pursue this trail of leveling.
Doesn't work.
Not because Thunder Gauntlets aren't gloves (though they very much are not - there is a world of difference between a sturdily built armored gauntlet and anything we might reasonably call a 'glove'), but because Martial Arts - i.e. the monk ability that lets monks do Monk Things - doesn't work while you're wearing armor, and the Armorer Artificer's stuff explicitly requires you to be wearing armor. If you want to waive the issue for what is clearly an extremely hinky character combination that would work sketchily at best in even the most favorable circumstances? Sure. You're the DM, you do you. But since this was ruthlessly moved to R&GM where the RAW is LAW? There is no possible way to interpret RAW in a manner that allows you to use Arcane Armor and Martial Arts at the same time.
Sorry.
Please do not contact or message me.
Yeah, it doesn't work because it would be considered armored