Currently, I have a Level 5 Wizard with 12 WIS. My group recently found a box full of Ioun Stones with one stone granting a +2 WIS bonus. If my Wizard attuned to that stone, could I dip into Druid?
Additionally, would the removal of the stone null my level in Druid? Or is it simply a gating mechanic and once the initial WIS requirement to sub-class is met the stone can be removed?
In a technical sense the wisdom would be proper for a cross class.
I have an issue with the idea, coming from how I'd rule it at my table, due to a bit of the wording in the Multiclass section:
... Without the full training that a beginning character receives, you must be a quick study in your new class, having a naturalaptitude that is reflected by higher-than-average ability scores.
edit: Emphasis my own
With that little bit of text I'm prone to feel that the stat needs to be natural rather than a temporary boost from an item. I'd lean toward saying that it would not be allowed at my table if the stat was not naturally obtained by leveling or a permanent adjustment from an item like Tome of Understanding.
Currently, I have a Level 5 Wizard with 12 WIS. My group recently found a box full of Ioun Stones with one stone granting a +2 WIS bonus. If my Wizard attuned to that stone, could I dip into Druid?
Additionally, would the removal of the stone null my level in Druid? Or is it simply a gating mechanic and once the initial WIS requirement to sub-class is met the stone can be removed?
RAW: There is nothing stopping this.
RAI: Jeremy Crawford has stated that the intent was to be your base score, not including additions granted by temporary effects. (link)
Verdict: Ask your DM, their ruling would be best in this case, imo.
In a technical sense the wisdom would be proper for a cross class.
I have an issue with the idea, coming from how I'd rule it at my table, due to a bit of the wording in the Multiclass section:
edit: Emphasis my own
With that little bit of text I'm prone to feel that the stat needs to be natural rather than a temporary boost from an item. I'd lean toward saying that it would not be allowed at my table if the stat was not naturally obtained by leveling or a permanent adjustment from an item like Tome of Understanding.
This may be relevant:
https://www.sageadvice.eu/2018/08/01/if-the-caster-has-a-temporary-magical-effect-that-increases-a-stat-does-the-simulacrum-have-that-boon-for-the-same-duration-as-well/
It's not the exact case, but I think it points out intent.
Of course, that makes me wonder about something like the Tome of Understanding, which uses the same wording as the Ioun Stone of Insight.
There's also an included link a couple posts above which answer OP's question directly as to the rule's intent with regards to multiclassing.
https://www.sageadvice.eu/2015/10/07/multiclass-temporary-stat-prerequisite/
Thank you, everyone, for your answers and insight!