Question. Would a bag of tricks count as an extra dimensional space? Since it appears empty but reaching in provides you with up to 3 fuzzy objects. It’s not specified in the item. But sounds like it to me. Just wanted to know other options
A useful rule of thumb in 5th edition is avoid adding assumptions to a reading. This isn't always practical, but it works pretty well most of the time.
For this particular example, see the entries for Bag of Holding, Portable Hole, and Heward's Handy Haversack. Each of them include pretty explicit mentions of extradimensional space, along with rules that define what happens when such things get too comfortable with each other.
The Bag of Tricks has no such mention. Personally, I think what it does is more along the lines of summoning?
That said, the DM can always choose to append such rules to items, such as "the bag of tricks has a small extradimensional zoo in it", or "the handy haversack actually shrinks items and there's a tiny gnome living in there that gives you what you want when you reach inside". I'd advise consistency within such rulings, but such deviations often provide the most memorable experiences. :)
I'd say the bag works by a simple illusion to appear empty, and the fuzzy balls are a solidified conjuration spell. Nothing suggests the creatures inside it have ever existed before, let alone been hanging out in an extra-dimensional apartment in the bag. A sign of dimensional strangeness would be the ability to put the creatures back in...
And now we get to Schrodinger, quantum entanglement, and Tasslehoff Burrfoot...
I am of the same mind as this group, it's less an extra-dimensional space as it is more of a magical effect that is contingent on removing the fuzzy object from the bag. The big piece to this, for me at least, is that, in the cases of extra-dimensional containers, there is wording that describes tossing a living creature in to the bag. There is a time frame where a creature can be sustained in the container before the need air, with the Bag of Tricks, there is no such information. There is also no risk of sticking your hand into the bag and having to play catch with the fuzzy ball, instead it is simply a fuzzy orb, not a critter.
Question. Would a bag of tricks count as an extra dimensional space? Since it appears empty but reaching in provides you with up to 3 fuzzy objects. It’s not specified in the item. But sounds like it to me. Just wanted to know other options
A useful rule of thumb in 5th edition is avoid adding assumptions to a reading. This isn't always practical, but it works pretty well most of the time.
For this particular example, see the entries for Bag of Holding, Portable Hole, and Heward's Handy Haversack. Each of them include pretty explicit mentions of extradimensional space, along with rules that define what happens when such things get too comfortable with each other.
The Bag of Tricks has no such mention. Personally, I think what it does is more along the lines of summoning?
That said, the DM can always choose to append such rules to items, such as "the bag of tricks has a small extradimensional zoo in it", or "the handy haversack actually shrinks items and there's a tiny gnome living in there that gives you what you want when you reach inside". I'd advise consistency within such rulings, but such deviations often provide the most memorable experiences. :)
I'd say the bag works by a simple illusion to appear empty, and the fuzzy balls are a solidified conjuration spell. Nothing suggests the creatures inside it have ever existed before, let alone been hanging out in an extra-dimensional apartment in the bag. A sign of dimensional strangeness would be the ability to put the creatures back in...
And now we get to Schrodinger, quantum entanglement, and Tasslehoff Burrfoot...
I am of the same mind as this group, it's less an extra-dimensional space as it is more of a magical effect that is contingent on removing the fuzzy object from the bag. The big piece to this, for me at least, is that, in the cases of extra-dimensional containers, there is wording that describes tossing a living creature in to the bag. There is a time frame where a creature can be sustained in the container before the need air, with the Bag of Tricks, there is no such information. There is also no risk of sticking your hand into the bag and having to play catch with the fuzzy ball, instead it is simply a fuzzy orb, not a critter.
Makes sense. Thanks very much for the thoughts :)