When you hit with an attack using a simple or martial weapon, you can roll one of the weapon’s damage dice an additional time and add it as extra damage of the weapon’s damage type. Once you use this ability, you can’t use it again until you finish a short or long rest.
I'm playing a Half-Orc Druid in my main game, and spend most of my time wildshaped. Although the feat specifies Simple or Martial weapon attacks, does an attack made while in Wild Shape count towards this? I think I read somewhere that attacks in Wild Shape can be considered Melee Weapon Attacks, just want to make sure that RAW, this would apply in that form as well. If it's not, do you think it would be a crazy balance breaker to rule that this feat can be used in Wild Shape?
Attacks from your wild shape form are indeed considered melee weapon attacks, however .... Orcish Fury specifically states that you must be using a simple or martial weapon.
I'm of the opinion that this means the wild shape animal form attacks don't count.
Stormknight is correct that Orcish Fury doesn't work because the natural weapons of a wildshaped druid are not simple or martial weapons. However, InquisitiveCoder's additional point is incorrect: unlike Polymorph, a druid's Wildshape ability does not get replace your own statblock with that of the creature you turn into, or remove your original racial abilities (and racial feats). When an orc wildshapes into a bear, they're basically orc+bear, not a pure bear like they would be if polymorphed. See this Sage Advice tweet for a quick and definitive ruling.
Attacks from your wild shape form are indeed considered melee weapon attacks, however .... Orcish Fury specifically states that you must be using a simple or martial weapon.
I'm of the opinion that this means the wild shape animal form attacks don't count.
Ok I can understand that. But then, if claws or teeth aren’t considered “simple” or “martial” weapons, what type of weapon are they considered?
To answer the second part of your question: 'Do you think it would be a crazy balance breaker to rule that this feat can be used in Wild Shape?'
No, it's not a crazy balance breaker, it the additional damage you're able to do is likely comparable to that of a simple or martial weapon. It's tempered by the fact you can only use it once per short/long rest.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, Orcish Fury States that:
I'm playing a Half-Orc Druid in my main game, and spend most of my time wildshaped. Although the feat specifies Simple or Martial weapon attacks, does an attack made while in Wild Shape count towards this? I think I read somewhere that attacks in Wild Shape can be considered Melee Weapon Attacks, just want to make sure that RAW, this would apply in that form as well. If it's not, do you think it would be a crazy balance breaker to rule that this feat can be used in Wild Shape?
Attacks from your wild shape form are indeed considered melee weapon attacks, however .... Orcish Fury specifically states that you must be using a simple or martial weapon.
I'm of the opinion that this means the wild shape animal form attacks don't count.
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
There's also the fact that you're not a half-orc any more while transformed, so you don't meet the feat's prerequisite.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Stormknight is correct that Orcish Fury doesn't work because the natural weapons of a wildshaped druid are not simple or martial weapons. However, InquisitiveCoder's additional point is incorrect: unlike Polymorph, a druid's Wildshape ability does not get replace your own statblock with that of the creature you turn into, or remove your original racial abilities (and racial feats). When an orc wildshapes into a bear, they're basically orc+bear, not a pure bear like they would be if polymorphed. See this Sage Advice tweet for a quick and definitive ruling.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Ok I can understand that. But then, if claws or teeth aren’t considered “simple” or “martial” weapons, what type of weapon are they considered?
They’re natural weapons
Professional computer geek
To answer the second part of your question: 'Do you think it would be a crazy balance breaker to rule that this feat can be used in Wild Shape?'
No, it's not a crazy balance breaker, it the additional damage you're able to do is likely comparable to that of a simple or martial weapon. It's tempered by the fact you can only use it once per short/long rest.