I'm thinking of twinning a spiritual weapons as Divine Sorcerer. Will I run into any issues with having two weapons and only one Bonus action for the melee attack. Do they have to attack the same target?
I'm of a mind to say that you'll be unable to use Twinned spell on Spiritual weapon.
I say this because of two lines in the description of Twinned spell: "When you Cast a Spell that Targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self..." "To be eligible, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature..."
Spiritual weapon does not target a creature in the same sense as Fire Bolt, Hold Person, or Blight.
Even if you could twin it, the only benefits would be an extra attack when you cast it and the ability to have them in different locations as your bonus action would only let you move and attack with one of them.
I read it as targeting only one creature, doesn't state that I can't move them both to the same creature. I wonder a bit about this because it seems to create a situation where the rules don't specifically address.
Spiritual Weapon creates a magical effect that you can then manipulate; it does not target a creature.
The spell has to say something like "you fire this spell at a creature within range" or "choose a willing creature you can see within range" etc. in order to be eligible for Twinning. Also it can't be something that can naturally target more than one creature like magic missile.
The spell targets a location. Even if it didn't, it has the ability to target more than one creature, making it inelligible for twinning even if it is only targetted against a single creature. If you ignore both of those and still do it, it would cost your bonus action to move and attack with one of them, you only have one bonus action per turn and so can only use one of them to attack on a given turn.
I'm thinking of twinning a spiritual weapons as Divine Sorcerer. Will I run into any issues with having two weapons and only one Bonus action for the melee attack. Do they have to attack the same target?
I'm of a mind to say that you'll be unable to use Twinned spell on Spiritual weapon.
I say this because of two lines in the description of Twinned spell:
"When you Cast a Spell that Targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self..."
"To be eligible, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature..."
Spiritual weapon does not target a creature in the same sense as Fire Bolt, Hold Person, or Blight.
Even if you could twin it, the only benefits would be an extra attack when you cast it and the ability to have them in different locations as your bonus action would only let you move and attack with one of them.
I read it as targeting only one creature, doesn't state that I can't move them both to the same creature. I wonder a bit about this because it seems to create a situation where the rules don't specifically address.
Spiritual Weapon creates a magical effect that you can then manipulate; it does not target a creature.
The spell has to say something like "you fire this spell at a creature within range" or "choose a willing creature you can see within range" etc. in order to be eligible for Twinning. Also it can't be something that can naturally target more than one creature like magic missile.
The spell targets a location. Even if it didn't, it has the ability to target more than one creature, making it inelligible for twinning even if it is only targetted against a single creature. If you ignore both of those and still do it, it would cost your bonus action to move and attack with one of them, you only have one bonus action per turn and so can only use one of them to attack on a given turn.
Thanks, everyone.