Careful spell says that when you cast a spell that forces a save you can expend a sorcery point to have up to 5 creatures/individuals automatically make their saving throw. Does the caster need to be able to see the individual to protect them? Or can they simply name the party members they wish to avoid. Last game session we had one character not in the casters line of sight and another one who was invisible. We table ruled they could not be excluded but the description of the metamagic is vague
Careful spell says that when you cast a spell that forces a save you can expend a sorcery point to have up to 5 creatures/individuals automatically make their saving throw. Does the caster need to be able to see the individual to protect them? Or can they simply name the party members they wish to avoid. Last game session we had one character not in the casters line of sight and another one who was invisible. We table ruled they could not be excluded but the description of the metamagic is vague
You don't need to be able to see them to protect them. Otherwise it would say so.
I agree with Sookie_99 when game elements require to see targets it specifically say so.