One of my Triton players noticed next to the Control Air and Water racial trait on her character sheet that it says No Action in parentheses.
Does this mean that she can cast Fog Cloud, Gust of Wind, and Wall of Water without spending an action. That doesn't seem right, but I don't know why else it would say No Action next to the trait.
I’m not in a position to build a triton character and look for myself, but nothing about Control Air and Water suggests that the spells are cast with anything other than the normal action type for them, so it’s probably a character sheet bug.
Old post but it means that using the control air and water ability does not require an action or bonus action. You still follow the rules of the individual spell which would require 1 action and concentration.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
One of my Triton players noticed next to the Control Air and Water racial trait on her character sheet that it says No Action in parentheses.
Does this mean that she can cast Fog Cloud, Gust of Wind, and Wall of Water without spending an action. That doesn't seem right, but I don't know why else it would say No Action next to the trait.
Any ideas?
Casting a spell is an action unless the rules specify otherwise.
If in doubt on Triton creatures, please check the rules page for them:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/races/triton
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
I’m not in a position to build a triton character and look for myself, but nothing about Control Air and Water suggests that the spells are cast with anything other than the normal action type for them, so it’s probably a character sheet bug.
Old post but it means that using the control air and water ability does not require an action or bonus action. You still follow the rules of the individual spell which would require 1 action and concentration.