What is considered a target for the purpose of the Shadowfell shard? E.g. If I cast Tasha's Caustic Brew with Transmuted spell, is any creature within the spell's line of effect considered to be a "target" of the spell, or is there no targeted creature since the spell targets a point on the map and not a creature? I have a feeling I know the answer, but all of the threads I've found thus far are asking about the order of operations for the shard and not if it can be used on a creature within an area effect. Thanks in advance! https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/2408242-shadowfell-shard
The target is a creature affected by your spell. If your spell affects multiple creature then you choose one.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Yepper, you just choose which one gets to roll at disadvantage, the others roll as normal. It grants the 3-point heightened spell metamagic in addition to whatever metamagic you used. It is a massive savings on a powerful metamagic ability when you are burning through points. I personally use it coupled to subtle spell to help my save-or-suck spells stick better.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
IMHO, Earthdawn is still the best fantasy realm, Shadowrun is the best Sci-Fi realm, and Dark Sun is the best D&D realm.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
What is considered a target for the purpose of the Shadowfell shard? E.g. If I cast Tasha's Caustic Brew with Transmuted spell, is any creature within the spell's line of effect considered to be a "target" of the spell, or is there no targeted creature since the spell targets a point on the map and not a creature? I have a feeling I know the answer, but all of the threads I've found thus far are asking about the order of operations for the shard and not if it can be used on a creature within an area effect. Thanks in advance! https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/2408242-shadowfell-shard
The target is a creature affected by your spell. If your spell affects multiple creature then you choose one.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Yepper, you just choose which one gets to roll at disadvantage, the others roll as normal. It grants the 3-point heightened spell metamagic in addition to whatever metamagic you used. It is a massive savings on a powerful metamagic ability when you are burning through points. I personally use it coupled to subtle spell to help my save-or-suck spells stick better.
IMHO, Earthdawn is still the best fantasy realm, Shadowrun is the best Sci-Fi realm, and Dark Sun is the best D&D realm.