You must be proficient with wind instruments to use these pipes. They have 3 charges. You can use an action to play them and expend 1 charge to create an eerie, spellbinding tune. Each creature within 30 feet of you that hears you play must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or become frightened of you for 1 minute. If you wish, all creatures in the area that aren't hostile toward you automatically succeed on the saving throw. A creature that fails the saving throw can repeat it at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success. A creature that succeeds on its saving throw is immune to the effect of these pipes for 24 hours. The pipes regain 1d3 expended charges daily at dawn.
Notes: Frightened, Control, Instrument
I feel like this should also work if you have Performance proficiency.
Thank you for this - happy memories ...
"The pipes regain 1d3 expended charges daily at dawn."
Um... What is a d3?
Does "You can use an action to play them and expend 1 charge to create an eerie, spellbinding tune" count as as an attack or casting a spell?
Im asking in account of being invisible while playing them
You can roll a d6 ...1&2 = 1, 3&4 = 2, 5&6 = 3.
No. That would be a "use a magic item" action, which is distinct from both attacks and spells.
Depends on the DM and setting. Your DM might allow you to simply buy them if you're in a setting with magic item shops and can find them. Your DM might let you follow the magic item crafting rules to craft them. Or they could be completely unattainable. If you want them, that's something you'll have to take up with your DM (same applies to all magic items, really).
That depends on the DM. The rules for crafting magic items are variable, and highly open to DM discretion, but the rules from Xanathar's Guide recommends an uncommon magic item take 200 gp and 2 uninterrupted work weeks, and that's assuming your DM decides not to have a key component in the crafting process be something you have to go on a quest and/or fight a specific monster for.
Very annoying that this doesn't show up as an Action on the sheet... I know it's technically covered under the "Interact with an object" action, but given that description to the item specifically says "you can use an action to play them an expend 1 charge..." it would sure be nice if they actually showed up as a separate action, they get completely forgotten on my Inventory tab. (I know there are workarounds with homebrew or custom items, I just think it should work that way by default.)
So these work just like normal Bagpipes but without the bag, but ignore Scotsman immunity to bagpipes?
I'm assuming if someone does detect magic on this item it will show the enchantment school.
The perfect instrument for playing Spooky Scary Skeletons.