Weapon (any sword), legendary (requires attunement)
You gain a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with this magic weapon. While the sword is on your person, you also gain a +1 bonus to saving throws.
Luck. If the sword is on your person, you can call on its luck (no action required) to reroll one attack roll, ability check, or saving throw you dislike. You must use the second roll. This property can't be used again until the next dawn.
Wish. The sword has 1d4–1 charges. While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 charge and cast the wish spell from it. This property can't be used again until the next dawn. The sword loses this property if it has no charges.
Applicable Weapons:
| Name | Type | Damage | Properties |
|---|---|---|---|
| Greatsword | Martial Melee | 2d6 slashing | Heavy, two-handed |
| Longsword | Martial Melee | 1d8 slashing | Versatile (1d10) |
| Rapier | Martial Melee | 1d8 piercing | Finesse |
| Scimitar | Martial Melee | 1d6 slashing | Finesse, light |
| Shortsword | Martial Melee | 1d6 piercing | Finesse, light |
Notes: Bonus: Magic, Bonus: Saving Throws, Damage, Control, Buff, Combat







-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 22, 2018The charges for Wish aren't being calculated correctly - it always shows up as 1 when it's supposed to be 1d4 minus 1, so between 3 and 0 charges.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 9, 2019Do you roll the wish charges when you find the sword, or does it come with the charges already
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 22, 2019the DM decides
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 28, 2019also the weapon has 1d4-1 charges for ever correct?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 10, 2019No, the weapon has 1d4-1 charges until the charges are used. For example, if you roll a 3, you get 2 charges/uses of wish. Once those two uses are expended, you cannot cast wish from the weapon again.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 14, 2019thats what i mean
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 5, 2019Ok so say you have a Luck Blade that has one charge left. Could you use a carefully worded Wish spell to restore it to all 3 charges again? Im asking because we currently have a Luck Blade, as well as a Moon Card from a Deck of Many Things that gave us 2 Wishes, and we're trying to figure out if we could use it to recharge the Luck Blade with a Wish.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 16, 2019In my game, I would rule it as a no
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 3, 2019Ixnay on the wishing for more wishes-ay.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 5, 2019our dm told us that the only limit to the wishes was that we couldn't wish for more wishes, so instead, we wish for more luck blades. btw my characters neutral evil...
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 16, 2020And that's how you get a chargeless luckblade.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 14, 2020Wish to become One Punch Man, game over :p
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 10, 2020Basically both. The DM rolls for the charges at whatever point he introduces the weapon to the campaign.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 7, 2020If you're using the crafting rules outline in the DMG (https://www.flutesloot.com/5e-crafting-magic-items/), yes. First, you use a wish to wish to gain 20 (at least 17, but 20 is preferable) levels in wizard. Then, you use the second wish to get say 50 trillion platinum coins (the amount doesn't matter, as long as it's a lot. As a wizard, ensure that you have the Wish spell, so you will be able to craft another Wish Blade. Then, you wait 55 years/the number of people who are level 17 and work on it. 500,000 gp and 55 years of labor later, you have another Luck Blade. Then use the wishes from the Luck Blade to get immortality for you and your party members (and wishing for more gold as needed). Then continue the con forever.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 23, 2020There is actually a few limiting factors to this, the first being that with wish, you can only wish for up to something worth up to 25,000 (or 2,500) nowhere near enough to create a luckblade under the normal rules. The second being whenever you cast the wish spell, and you wish for anything other than duplicating the effect of an 8th or lower level spell, you have a 33% chance of never being able to cast Wish again. Whether or not that applies to a wish cast with a luck blade, I'm not sure, but it would apply to you casting it as a normal spell, so you'd probably become completely unable to cast Wish after a while. The last limiting factor is the DM. Compared to the other things wish can do, 20 immediate levels in any class is waaay to powerful to just let happen, wishing for that might either immediately cause the spell to fail (one of the things it says can happen with wish), or, if your DM is perhaps a little more creative, instantly give your character amnesia, losing all your current class levels, and put them under a very talented trainer who specializes in the class you wished to be 20 levels in, and your character disappears for however long it takes them to become level 20. There's plenty of ways that what you suggest could go far beyond what you intended to get. Wish is incredibly powerful, the most powerful spell a mortal can cast, but it's still limited
Be careful what you wish for, it might just come true
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 7, 2020So you're actually wrong, because wish specifically states that you can with for something beyond the scope of what is listed. I don't get when people say wish is limited to that list, because it isn't really it's limited to the DM. You could totally wish for 50 trillion GP and a DM that is a little dumb and crazy might say yes.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 13, 2020Though if you do that, the Dm may make it so 50 trillion GP crushes you and instantly kills you.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 26, 2020Even with 0 wishes this blade can be quite potent.
The way the Luck feature is worded compared to the Lucky feat implies that this feature can be used on rolls for any creature, not just you.
If your DM rules it as so, a caster could use it to get an effect similar to a Heightened Spell (1/day). On top of that you can choose to use it after the initial roll has been made.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 29, 2020"Wish. The sword has 1d4–1 charges. While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 charge and cast the wish spell from it. This property can't be used again until the next dawn. The sword loses this property if it has no charges."
So, if you have a Luck Blade with 2 charges, you can use one a day and it'll recharge. But if your luck blade only has one charge, it's one and done? Am I reading that right?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 8, 2020No. The blade has X charges. When you cast wish, subtract one charge. Until the next dawn, you cannot cast wish. Once X = 0, you can no longer cast wish. You can never gain charges back unless the DM allows it, such as a divine favor.