AC
13
Initiative
+3 (13)
HP
24
(7d4 + 7)
Speed
20 ft., fly 40 ft.
Mod | Save | ||
---|---|---|---|
STR | 6 | -2 | -2 |
DEX | 17 | +3 | +3 |
CON | 13 | +1 | +1 |
Mod | Save | ||
---|---|---|---|
INT | 15 | +2 | +2 |
WIS | 12 | +1 | +1 |
CHA | 11 | +0 | +0 |
Resistances
Necrotic, Psychic, Radiant
Senses
Darkvision 60 ft., Passive Perception 11
Languages
Celestial, Common
CR
1 (XP 200; PB +2)
Traits
Magic Resistance. The sphinx has Advantage on saving throws against spells and other magical effects.
Actions
Rend. Melee Attack Roll: +5, reach 5 ft. Hit: 5 (1d4 + 3) Slashing damage plus 7 (2d6) Radiant damage.
Reactions
Burst of Ingenuity (2/Day). Trigger: The sphinx or another creature within 30 feet makes an ability check or a saving throw. Response: The sphinx adds 2 to the roll.
I thought familiars can't attack, they can only use their reaction?
Pact of the chain familiars can attack using your action.
Maybe I'm misunderstanding it, but is it not only just the "reaction" it can do?
"Additionally, when you take the Attack action, you can forgo one of your own attacks to allow your familiar to make one attack of its own with its Reaction."
So, the SoW would only be able to do the burst of ingenuity, right?
Don't forget every creature has 1 Reaction a round that they can use according to the PHB, and that inches a list of specific reactions it can take but they may also use their reaction for special purposes as defined by other sources. You are setting one in their stat block, Burst of Ingenuity, but if they were under a spell that granted them a special reaction they could use that in addition to an Attack of Opportunity, Boi, etc. In this case Pact of the Chain is specifically saying they can use their reaction to Attack. Because they only get 1 around the round they attack they could not also use their reaction for anything else, including BoI.
No. It means the SoW would use its reaction (for its turn) to take an attack action.
so beautiful
I hope it makes a good Druid
Imp or Pseudodragon but for my current campaign Gloomstalker [5] / Archfey Warlock [x] I will go for a pixie to cast Darkness from a Hag Eye and just hide the rest of combat.
You can give them magic items to cast spells so you can effectively have two concentration spells. They also can give "super advantage" in combination with the Alert feat on initiative and as a bonus you get some great roleplaying opportunities.
Sure if your DM lets you. And even with it being RAW there are plenty of ways a DM can run things to make this a bad idea. I'm pretty sure it was never intended for familiars to be able to use magic items, doubling a wizards attunement numbers and letting them sustain multiple spells etc.
At our table there are 3 attunement slots per player. I will grant you that having an additional magic action in a player's action economy is completely bonkers but in my case I will use it to compensate the low effectiveness of the ranger at higher levels. With the familiar casting Darkness on my Gloomstalker's behalf so he can actually cast the ranger's signature spell Hunter's Mark. The DM may cry foul but a multiclass with Shadow Monk would have been much more effective (I decided against that for fluff reasons).
What it always boils down to with rule mongering is whether you can keep your own character in check so that it doesn't take the spot light of other characters. In any case, it is easy for the DM to do something about the familiar if he wants to. They are after all, very squishy.