Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'before being decide continues reaction'.
Other Suggestions:
before being decide continue reaction
Spells
Player’s Handbook
at the same time, issuing the same command to each one). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move on its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to guard a
chamber or corridor. If you issue no commands, the creature takes the Dodge action and moves only to avoid harm. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete.
The
Spells
Player’s Handbook
command any of them at the same time, issuing the same command to them). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move on its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to
guard a particular place. If you issue no commands, the creature takes the Dodge action and moves only to avoid harm. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow the order until its task is
Monsters
Mythic Odysseys of Theros
each head regrown in this way.
Reactive Heads. For each head the hydra has beyond one, it gets an extra reaction that can be used only for opportunity attacks.
Wakeful. While the hydra sleeps, at least
hibernation during which it continues to grow. When it awakens, it goes on a feeding rampage, so beginning the cycle once again. These rhythms of destruction sometimes become so ingrained in the minds and
Create Undead
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Spells
Basic Rules (2014)
can command any or all of them at the same time, issuing the same command to each one). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its next turn, or you can issue a
general command, such as to guard a particular chamber or corridor. If you issue no commands, the creature only defends itself against hostile creatures. Once given an order, the creature continues to
Animate Dead
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Spells
Basic Rules (2014)
command to each one). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to guard a particular chamber or corridor. If you
issue no commands, the creature only defends itself against hostile creatures. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete.
The creature is under your control
spells
Xanathar's Guide to Everything
is within 120 feet of you. (If you control multiple creatures with this spell, you can command any or all of them at the same time, issuing the same command to each one.) You decide what action the
servant does nothing other than defend itself against hostile creatures. Once given an order, the servant continues to follow that order until its task is complete.
When the creature drops to 0 hit points
Monsters
Van Richten’s Guide to Ravenloft
a specific location their battlefield. This gives rise to stories of haunted battlegrounds, ruins, roads, river crossings and other strategic locations where a dullahan continues a terrifying
use its reaction to make a melee attack.
Headless Wail (Costs 2 Actions). An echoing shriek issues from the dullahan’s headless stump. Each creature of the dullahan’s choice within 10
Monsters
Mythic Odysseys of Theros
beyond one, it gets an extra reaction that can be used only to make opportunity attacks.
Siege Monster. Polukranos deals double damage to objects and structures.
Wakeful. While Polukranos sleeps, at
period of hibernation during which it continues to grow. When it awakens, it goes on a feeding rampage, so beginning the cycle once again. These rhythms of destruction sometimes become so ingrained in
Animate Objects
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Spells
Basic Rules (2014)
the same time, issuing the same command to each one). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to guard a
particular chamber or corridor. If you issue no commands, the creature only defends itself against hostile creatures. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
continues, you can decide to take this readied Reaction—or, if plans change, you can take any other Reaction you might have access to, such as an Opportunity Attack. But remember that you have only one
commitment. By taking the Ready action, you’re giving your character access to a tailor-made Reaction to use in a given circumstance. However, you’re not bound to take that readied Reaction. As combat
Magic Items
Acquisitions Incorporated
. The difference between the index finger and the middle finger. The elasticity of the ear lobe.
6
You take a long, careful look, and then decide based on which fellow franchisee has been nice to
long rest.
Bead of Instant Karma
At rank 3, one of the beads on your occultant abacus channels the power of instant karma, turning the occultant abacus into a rare magic item. As a reaction, you can
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dungeon of the Mad Mage
spore, it uses its reaction to emit a shriek audible within 300 feet of it. The gas spore continues to shriek until the disturbance moves out of range and for 1d4 rounds afterward. The shrieking of the gas spore alerts the hobgoblins in areas 32c and 33, who come to investigate.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
before the start of your next turn. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to
Ready Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you can take the Ready action on your turn, which lets you act using your reaction
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
before the start of your next turn. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to
Ready Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you can take the Ready action on your turn, which lets you act using your reaction
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
your next turn. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your Reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your
Ready [Action] You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of
Magic Items
Lost Laboratory of Kwalish
Power. Powered armor originally required energy cells to fuel it, but was adapted by Kwalish to be fueled by the life energy of the creature wearing it. You might decide that the armor can also draw
magic that generates a conduit something like an astral silver cord. While so connected, a willing ally can give up hit points as a reaction to fuel the armor’s abilities.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
your next turn. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your Reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your
Ready [Action] You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
Your Turn On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first. Your speed — sometimes called your walking speed — is
can’t decide what to do on your turn, consider taking the Dodge or Ready action, as described in "Actions in Combat." Bonus Actions Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
Your Turn On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first. Your speed--sometimes called your walking speed--is
. The Movement and Position section gives the rules for your move. You can forgo moving, taking an action, or doing anything at all on your turn. If you can't decide what to do on your turn, consider
Yuan-ti Pureblood
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Species
Volo's Guide to Monsters
they don’t believe they have a reasonable chance of success. This reaction isn’t out of cowardice, but practicality—yuan-ti value their own lives much too highly to risk them when the
another society and wish to be part of it.
3
I respect my superiors and obey them without question. My fate is theirs to decide.
4
I have an interest in an unsuitable mate, which I can&rsquo
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Borderlands Quest: Goblin Trouble
Dead Spiders When the characters enter the cave, they see a passage leading deeper underground. From the cave entrance, a passage continues deeper beneath the hills and slopes downward. You travel
for several minutes before the passage turns north and leads up a set of natural stone steps. A group of caverns continues out ahead of you.
The ceiling of these caverns is choked with webs, and the
Actions
you act by taking a Reaction before the start of your next turn.First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your Reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that
move away.”When the trigger occurs, you can either take your Reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger.When you Ready a spell, you cast it as normal (expending any resources used
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Flee, Mortals! Rule Primer
many minions join a group attack. For instance, if five minions surround a target, the GM may decide to have all five attack at once to speed up combat, or may break up the attacks among smaller groups
the minions into multiple groups based on the type of cover or concealment they have, then make a separate attack for each group. Target Response Effects If a group attack triggers a reaction or
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Planescape: Adventures in the Multiverse->Turn of Fortune’s Wheel
) arrives to interview the characters about their strange situation. It seeks information so greater powers in Mechanus can decide whether they want to blame the characters for their reality-defying
surroundings. The illusion continues for an hour before vanishing. 5 The characters find a field littered with thousands of dead sunflies. A character who succeeds on a DC 14 Intelligence (Arcana) check knows
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
creatures, you can command any of them at the same time, issuing the same command to each one). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move on its next turn, or you can issue a
general command, such as to guard a chamber or corridor. If you issue no commands, the creature takes the Dodge action and moves only to avoid harm. Once given an order, the creature continues to
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to guard a particular chamber or corridor. If you issue no commands, the
creature only defends itself against hostile creatures. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete. The creature is under your control for 24 hours, after
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
in-game explanation. Monsters don’t attack the character, who returns the favor. On returning, the player resumes playing as if the absence never happened. Narrative Contrivance. Decide the character
is elsewhere while the rest of the party continues the adventure. Come up with in-game reasons for the character to temporarily leave the party and rejoin later, such as following up on a rumor or
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dragonlance: Shadow of the Dragon Queen
. Foreshadow that threat after characters decide where they’re headed by reading the following description: To the southwest, the crack of shearing stone sounds from a distant temple whose grounds teem with
continues. “We just saw something come over the cliffs—a gods-cursed dragon skeleton! We’re retreating, and the Dragon Armies are following. We’ll keep them drawn out as long as we can. See if you can
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
of them at the same time, issuing the same command to them). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move on its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to
guard a particular place. If you issue no commands, the creature takes the Dodge action and moves only to avoid harm. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow the order until its task is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
multiple creatures, you can command any of them at the same time, issuing the same command to each one). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move on its next turn, or you
continues to follow it until its task is complete. The creature is under your control for 24 hours, after which it stops obeying any command you’ve given it. To maintain control of the creature for another
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to guard a particular chamber or corridor. If you issue no commands, the
creature only defends itself against hostile creatures. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete. The creature is under your control for 24 hours, after
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
command any or all of them at the same time, issuing the same command to each one.) You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its next turn, or you can issue a simple
, the servant continues to follow that order until its task is complete. When the creature drops to 0 hit points, it reverts to its original form, and any remaining damage carries over to that form. At
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
any of them at the same time, issuing the same command to them). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move on its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to
guard a particular place. If you issue no commands, the creature takes the Dodge action and moves only to avoid harm. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow the order until its task is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
hostile. Whether the adventurers can shift a creature’s attitude is up to you. You decide whether the adventurers have successfully couched their statements in terms that matter to the creature
of an entirely different set of social interactions. 3. Charisma Check When the adventurers get to the point of their request, demand, or suggestion — or if you decide the conversation has run its
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Tyranny of Dragons
’ reaction will likely be influenced by whatever interaction the characters had with them earlier. The trolls might flee without a word, or they might decide they like Oyaviggaton and make it their






