Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'both before decide continues release'.
Other Suggestions:
both before desire continues relate
both before decade continues relate
both before decided continues relate
both before decides continues relate
both before decades continues relate
Spells
Player’s Handbook
at the same time, issuing the same command to each one). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move on its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to guard a
chamber or corridor. If you issue no commands, the creature takes the Dodge action and moves only to avoid harm. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete.
The
Spells
Player’s Handbook
command any of them at the same time, issuing the same command to them). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move on its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to
guard a particular place. If you issue no commands, the creature takes the Dodge action and moves only to avoid harm. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow the order until its task is
Magic Items
Netheril’s Fall
This hat has 3 charges and regains all expended charges daily at dawn. You can take a Magic action and expend 1 charge while holding the hat to release a magical vortex from it. The vortex fills a 10
-foot Cube originating from you and lasts for 1 hour. While the vortex is present, its area is Difficult Terrain.
You decide a vortex's visual details when you create it. For instance, the vortex might be multicolored or glittery.
Create Undead
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Spells
Basic Rules (2014)
can command any or all of them at the same time, issuing the same command to each one). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its next turn, or you can issue a
general command, such as to guard a particular chamber or corridor. If you issue no commands, the creature only defends itself against hostile creatures. Once given an order, the creature continues to
Animate Dead
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Spells
Basic Rules (2014)
command to each one). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to guard a particular chamber or corridor. If you
issue no commands, the creature only defends itself against hostile creatures. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete.
The creature is under your control
spells
Xanathar's Guide to Everything
is within 120 feet of you. (If you control multiple creatures with this spell, you can command any or all of them at the same time, issuing the same command to each one.) You decide what action the
servant does nothing other than defend itself against hostile creatures. Once given an order, the servant continues to follow that order until its task is complete.
When the creature drops to 0 hit points
Animate Objects
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Spells
Basic Rules (2014)
the same time, issuing the same command to each one). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to guard a
particular chamber or corridor. If you issue no commands, the creature only defends itself against hostile creatures. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Netheril’s Fall: Tales of Terror, Treasure, and Time Travel
hat to release a magical vortex from it. The vortex fills a 10-foot Cube originating from you and lasts for 1 hour. While the vortex is present, its area is Difficult Terrain. You decide a vortex’s visual details when you create it. For instance, the vortex might be multicolored or glittery.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
before the start of your next turn. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to
but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell's magic requires concentration
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Eberron: Rising from the Last War
release an overlord, but they help to sustain it. To release an overlord, the Lords of Dust must ensure that the Prophecy unfolds along a specific path. Often, following this path requires specific
devious that it is often impossible to discern a pattern to their actions until their plans have come to fruition and the connections have finally been made clear. (You could retroactively decide that what you intended as unconnected encounters were all part of the plan from the beginning!)
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
before the start of your next turn. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to
occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron
What Caused the Mourning? There will never be an official answer to the cause of the Mourning. As a DM in Eberron, we want you to decide the cause of this tragedy… or if you prefer, to leave it as a
mystery that will never be solved. With that said, people in Eberron itself have many theories about the cause of the Mourning; it’s up to you to decide if any of them are correct. The Mourning was
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
continues, you can decide to take this readied Reaction—or, if plans change, you can take any other Reaction you might have access to, such as an Opportunity Attack. But remember that you have only one
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
your next turn. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your Reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your
release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of an action, and holding on to the spell’s magic requires Concentration, which you can maintain up
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
your next turn. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your Reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your
release with your Reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of an action, and holding on to the spell’s magic requires Concentration, which you can maintain up
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Lost Mine of Phandelver
5. Overpass Where a high tunnel passes through the larger tunnel cavern below, the goblins have set up a bridge guard post. The stream passage continues up beyond another set of uneven steps ahead
against the goblin’s passive Wisdom (Perception) score to creep by without being noticed. If the goblin spots the adventurers, it signals the goblins in area 7 to release a flood (see the “Flood!” section
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
offer. This process continues until the characters comply or none are left. Those who agree to the beholder’s terms are permitted to leave with their lives. If the characters give Xanathar the stone, it
character makes. On a failure, Xanathar demands that the character release Sylgar at once or be disintegrated (and makes good on its threat).
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Waterdeep: Dragon Heist
Disrupting Manshoon’s Operation Characters can hinder Manshoon in the following ways. Release the Barlgura If the characters free the barlgura demon in area K15 and allow it to roam Kolat Towers
is said and done, Manshoon is forced to retreat to his extradimensional sanctum. From there, he continues his search for the Vault of Dragons while fending off attackers. Steal Manshoon’s Spellbook
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Planescape: Adventures in the Multiverse->Turn of Fortune’s Wheel
, more powerful self. If a character doesn’t release their lost incarnation, it might make the following chapter more challenging. Let each character decide what to do with their trapped incarnation
. If they decide to release it later, they can do so by returning to the House of Liars or by magical means available in Sigil. CoupleOfKooks “You never stop being a hero. You might take a break, you
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Borderlands Quest: Goblin Trouble
Dead Spiders When the characters enter the cave, they see a passage leading deeper underground. From the cave entrance, a passage continues deeper beneath the hills and slopes downward. You travel
for several minutes before the passage turns north and leads up a set of natural stone steps. A group of caverns continues out ahead of you.
The ceiling of these caverns is choked with webs, and the
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus
negotiate for his release if the characters capture him. He suggests that it would be most unwise to oppose a duke of Baldur’s Gate without leverage. If the characters decide to attack Vanthampur Villa
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Planescape: Adventures in the Multiverse->Turn of Fortune’s Wheel
) arrives to interview the characters about their strange situation. It seeks information so greater powers in Mechanus can decide whether they want to blame the characters for their reality-defying
surroundings. The illusion continues for an hour before vanishing. 5 The characters find a field littered with thousands of dead sunflies. A character who succeeds on a DC 14 Intelligence (Arcana) check knows
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
creatures, you can command any of them at the same time, issuing the same command to each one). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move on its next turn, or you can issue a
general command, such as to guard a chamber or corridor. If you issue no commands, the creature takes the Dodge action and moves only to avoid harm. Once given an order, the creature continues to
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to guard a particular chamber or corridor. If you issue no commands, the
creature only defends itself against hostile creatures. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete. The creature is under your control for 24 hours, after
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
in-game explanation. Monsters don’t attack the character, who returns the favor. On returning, the player resumes playing as if the absence never happened. Narrative Contrivance. Decide the character
is elsewhere while the rest of the party continues the adventure. Come up with in-game reasons for the character to temporarily leave the party and rejoin later, such as following up on a rumor or
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dragonlance: Shadow of the Dragon Queen
. Foreshadow that threat after characters decide where they’re headed by reading the following description: To the southwest, the crack of shearing stone sounds from a distant temple whose grounds teem with
continues. “We just saw something come over the cliffs—a gods-cursed dragon skeleton! We’re retreating, and the Dragon Armies are following. We’ll keep them drawn out as long as we can. See if you can
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Princes of the Apocalypse
T3. Cage Trap If the party continues east along the tunnel past area T2, they walk into a trap. Read the following text only if a character examines the ceiling: The ceiling consists of square stone
continues down the passage.
Ten iron cages are suspended from chains over the hallway, and the “panels” are the cage bottoms. The true ceiling is 25 feet high, and each cage hangs from 5 feet of heavy
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player’s Handbook
of them at the same time, issuing the same command to them). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move on its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to
guard a particular place. If you issue no commands, the creature takes the Dodge action and moves only to avoid harm. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow the order until its task is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
multiple creatures, you can command any of them at the same time, issuing the same command to each one). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move on its next turn, or you
continues to follow it until its task is complete. The creature is under your control for 24 hours, after which it stops obeying any command you’ve given it. To maintain control of the creature for another
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to guard a particular chamber or corridor. If you issue no commands, the
creature only defends itself against hostile creatures. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete. The creature is under your control for 24 hours, after
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
any of them at the same time, issuing the same command to them). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move on its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to
guard a particular place. If you issue no commands, the creature takes the Dodge action and moves only to avoid harm. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow the order until its task is
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Xanathar's Guide to Everything
command any or all of them at the same time, issuing the same command to each one.) You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its next turn, or you can issue a simple
, the servant continues to follow that order until its task is complete. When the creature drops to 0 hit points, it reverts to its original form, and any remaining damage carries over to that form. At
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus
here to assassinate Mordenkainen. If they overhear his discussions with the characters, the assassins decide to alter their plans. Both fiends turn invisible and follow the party in hope of an
opportunity to kidnap one or more characters and deliver them to Zariel. If they succeed, Zariel invites the rest of the group to her flying fortress to negotiate terms for their comrades’ release (see “Zariel’s Flying Fortress”).
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
you (if you control multiple creatures, you can command any or all of them at the same time, issuing the same command to each one). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move
given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete. The creature is under your control for 24 hours, after which it stops obeying any command you have given it. To maintain
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
you (if you control multiple creatures, you can command any or all of them at the same time, issuing the same command to each one). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move
given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete. The creature is under your control for 24 hours, after which it stops obeying any command you have given it. To maintain






