Search Results
All Results
                Characters
                Compendium
                Spells
                Items
                Monsters
                Vehicles
                Forums
                
                        Returning 35 results for 'defends saving'.
                    
                
                        
                            
                                Other Suggestions:
                            
                            
                                    
                                        defender saving
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        descends saving
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        defenses saving
                                    
                                
                                    
                                        defend saving
                                    
                                
                        
                    
                
                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     you are playing the pipes, the swarm makes a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw. On a successful save, the swarm behaves as it normally would and can’t be swayed by the pipes’ music for the next
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Friendly swarm obeys your commands. If you issue no commands to a Friendly swarm, it defends itself but otherwise takes no actions. If a Friendly swarm starts its turn more than 30 feet away from you, your
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     of existence other than the one you’re on, the target must succeed on a DC 17 Wisdom saving throw or be trapped in the flask. If the target has been trapped by the flask before, it has Advantage
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     defends itself but otherwise takes no actions. At the end of the duration, the creature acts in accordance with its normal disposition and alignment.
An Identify spell reveals if the flask contains a
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     you on your Initiative count. If you issue no commands, the creature defends itself but takes no other actions.
The creature exists for a duration specific to each figurine. At the end of the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or have the Frightened condition for 1 minute, until you are no longer riding the goat, or until the goat reverts to figurine form. The Frightened creature
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Storm King's Thunder
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     + 4);{"diceNotation":"4d6+4","rollType":"damage","rollAction":"Tail","rollDamageType":"bludgeoning"} bludgeoning damage. If the target is a creature, it must succeed on a DC 14 Strength saving throw
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     or be knocked prone.Thick armor plating covers the body of the plant-eating dinosaur ankylosaurus, which defends itself against predators with a knobbed tail that delivers a devastating strike.PoisonBludgeoning
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Out of the Abyss
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Ooze Cube. The cube takes up its entire space. Other creatures can enter the space, but a creature that does so is subjected to the cube's Engulf and has disadvantage on the saving throw.
Creatures
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    . While doing so, it can enter Large or smaller creatures' spaces. Whenever the cube enters a creature's space, the creature must make a DC 12 Dexterity saving throw.
On a successful save, the creature can
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Duergar Resilience. Grandolpha has advantage on saving throws against poison, spells, and illusions, as well as to resist being charmed or paralyzed.
Innate Spellcasting (Psionics). Grandolpha's
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     noxious gas from her palm. The creature must succeed on a DC 13 Constitution saving throw or take 13 (2d12);{"diceNotation":"2d12","rollType":"damage","rollAction":"Poison Spray","rollDamageType":"poison
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Acquisitions Incorporated
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Fey Ancestry. Môrgæn has advantage on saving throws against being charmed, and magic can't put her to sleep.
Innate Spellcasting. Môrgæn's spellcasting ability is Intelligence. She can innately cast
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     coworkers. Famously, she is the only member of Acquisitions Incorporated known to be paid in advance, lest a missed invoice lead to dire repercussions.
A child of the forest, Môrgæn defends the natural world
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Ankylosaurus
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Monsters
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    ","rollAction":"Tail","rollDamageType":"bludgeoning"} bludgeoning damage. If the target is a creature, it must succeed on a DC 14 Strength saving throw or be knocked prone.Thick armor plating covers the body
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     of the plant-eating dinosaur ankylosaurus, which defends itself against predators with a knobbed tail that delivers a devastating strike.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Dominate Monster
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Spells
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    You attempt to beguile a creature that you can see within range. It must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be charmed by you for the duration. If you or creatures that are friendly to you are
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     fighting it, it has advantage on the saving throw.
While the creature is charmed, you have a telepathic link with it as long as the two of you are on the same plane of existence. You can use this
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Dominate Beast
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Spells
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    You attempt to beguile a beast that you can see within range. It must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be charmed by you for the duration. If you or creatures that are friendly to you are fighting
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     it, it has advantage on the saving throw.
While the beast is charmed, you have a telepathic link with it as long as the two of you are on the same plane of existence. You can use this telepathic
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Dominate Person
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Spells
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    You attempt to beguile a humanoid that you can see within range. It must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be charmed by you for the duration. If you or creatures that are friendly to you are
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     fighting it, it has advantage on the saving throw.
While the target is charmed, you have a telepathic link with it as long as the two of you are on the same plane of existence. You can use this telepathic
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Iron Flask
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     existence other than the one you're on, the target must succeed on a DC 17 Wisdom saving throw or be trapped in the flask. If the target has been trapped by the flask before, it has advantage on the saving
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     duration. If you give no commands or give it a command that is likely to result in its death, it defends itself but otherwise takes no actions. At the end of the duration, the creature acts in
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                    Figurine of Wondrous Power
                                                    
    
        Legacy
    
    
        This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
        Learn More
    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Magic Items
                                                    Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     doesn't become a creature.
The creature is friendly to you and your companions. It understands your languages and obeys your spoken commands. If you issue no commands, the creature defends itself but
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     it. Any creature hostile to you that starts its turn in the aura must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or be frightened of the goat for 1 minute, or until the goat reverts to figurine form. The
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Ankylosaurus Thick armor plating covers the body of the plant-eating ankylosaurus, which defends itself against predators with a knobbed tail that delivers a devastating strike. Some varieties of
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    
 Tail. Melee Weapon Attack: +7 to hit, reach 10 ft., one target. Hit: 18 (4d6 + 4) bludgeoning damage. If the target is a creature, it must succeed on a DC 14 Strength saving throw or be knocked prone.
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Ghosts of Saltmarsh
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     1,000 feet. They glow with bright light in a 100-foot radius and dim light for another 100 feet. Any creature that can see the lure lights must succeed on a DC 14 Wisdom saving throw or be charmed by the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     lights for 24 hours or until the lights are destroyed. A creature that succeeds on the saving throw is immune to the effect of the lure lights for 24 hours. While charmed by the lights, a creature
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be charmed by you for the duration. If you or creatures that are friendly to you are fighting it, it has advantage on the saving throw. While the beast is
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target. Until the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be charmed by you for the duration. If you or creatures that are friendly to you are fighting it, it has advantage on the saving throw. While the creature is
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be charmed by you for the duration. If you or creatures that are friendly to you are fighting it, it has advantage on the saving throw. While the beast is
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target. Until the
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . It must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be charmed by you for the duration. If you or creatures that are friendly to you are fighting it, it has advantage on the saving throw. While the target is
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . It must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be charmed by you for the duration. If you or creatures that are friendly to you are fighting it, it has advantage on the saving throw. While the target is
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Player's Handbook (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be charmed by you for the duration. If you or creatures that are friendly to you are fighting it, it has advantage on the saving throw. While the creature is
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     completes the order and doesn’t receive further direction from you, it defends and preserves itself to the best of its ability. You can use your action to take total and precise control of the target
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     30 feet of you while you are playing the pipes, the swarm makes a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw. On a successful save, the swarm behaves as it normally would and can’t be swayed by the pipes’ music for
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Friendly swarm obeys your commands. If you issue no commands to a Friendly swarm, it defends itself but otherwise takes no actions. If a Friendly swarm starts its turn more than 30 feet away from you
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     target is native to a plane of existence other than the one you’re on, the target must succeed on a DC 17 Wisdom saving throw or be trapped in the flask. If the target has been trapped by the flask
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     before, it has advantage on the saving throw. Once trapped, a creature remains in the flask until released. The flask can hold only one creature at a time. A creature trapped in the flask doesn’t need
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     30 feet of you while you are playing the pipes, the swarm makes a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw. On a successful save, the swarm behaves as it normally would and can’t be swayed by the pipes’ music for
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     Friendly swarm obeys your commands. If you issue no commands to a Friendly swarm, it defends itself but otherwise takes no actions. If a Friendly swarm starts its turn more than 30 feet away from you
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     target is native to a plane of existence other than the one you’re on, the target must succeed on a DC 17 Wisdom saving throw or be trapped in the flask. If the target has been trapped by the flask
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     before, it has advantage on the saving throw. Once trapped, a creature remains in the flask until released. The flask can hold only one creature at a time. A creature trapped in the flask doesn’t need
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Acquisitions Incorporated
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     Acquisitions Incorporated known to be paid in advance, lest a missed invoice lead to dire repercussions. A child of the forest, Môrgæn defends the natural world with singular ferocity and an impressive
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    
 12 (+1)
 
  DEX
 18 (+4)
 
  CON
 12 (+1)
 
  INT
 12 (+1)
 
  WIS
 14 (+2)
 
  CHA
 10 (+0)
Saving Throws Str +3, Dex +6
 Skills Athletics +3, Insight +4, Nature +3, Perception +4
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     and the target is native to a plane of existence other than the one you’re on, the target must succeed on a DC 17 Wisdom saving throw or be trapped in the flask. If the target has been trapped by the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , it defends itself but otherwise takes no actions. At the end of the duration, the creature acts in accordance with its normal disposition and alignment. An Identify spell reveals if the flask contains
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     their duty above mortal life. If threatened, a sphinx of valor defends its charge with its supernaturally empowered roar and fierce strikes. Sphinx of Valor Large Celestial, Lawful Neutral
 AC 17
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     its permission. Wisdom (Insight) checks made to ascertain its intentions or sincerity are made with Disadvantage.
 Legendary Resistance (3/Day, or 4/Day in Lair). If the sphinx fails a saving throw
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    Adult Bronze Dragon Matt Stewart  An adult bronze dragon defends the deep from a ravenous giant shark Adult bronze dragons often dwell near places they defend or where they help others work toward
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , Draconic
 CR 15 (XP 13,000, or 15,000 in lair; PB +5)
 Traits
 Amphibious. The dragon can breathe air and water.
 Legendary Resistance (3/Day, or 4/Day in Lair). If the dragon fails a saving throw
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     and the target is native to a plane of existence other than the one you’re on, the target must succeed on a DC 17 Wisdom saving throw or be trapped in the flask. If the target has been trapped by the
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    , it defends itself but otherwise takes no actions. At the end of the duration, the creature acts in accordance with its normal disposition and alignment. An Identify spell reveals if the flask contains
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dragonlance: Shadow of the Dragon Queen
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     a hit). 4 A bundle of thrashing cords whips around the character, who must succeed on a DC 10 Dexterity saving throw or be restrained until the end of the character’s next turn. 5 A device fires a
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     turn.   The inventor Tatina Rookledust defends her home from Dragon Army goblins The goblins flee after half their number are defeated. The hobgoblin tries to make the goblins hold their ground but
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Monster Manual
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                     importance. Roll on or choose a result from the Weretiger Wards table to inspire what a weretiger defends.
   Weretiger Wards    1d4 The Weretiger Protects A... 
     1  Legendary weapon or symbol of
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     following effect. Constitution Saving Throw: DC 13. Failure: The target is cursed. If the cursed target drops to 0 Hit Points, it instead becomes a Weretiger under the DM’s control and has 10 Hit Points
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Dungeon Master’s Guide (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . If you issue no commands, the creature defends itself but takes no other actions. See the Monster Manual for the creature’s statistics, except for the giant fly. The creature exists for a duration
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     in the aura must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or be frightened of the goat for 1 minute, or until the goat reverts to figurine form. The frightened creature can repeat the saving throw at
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Basic Rules (2014)
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    . If you issue no commands, the creature defends itself but takes no other actions. See the Monster Manual for the creature’s statistics, except for the giant fly. The creature exists for a duration
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                    -foot-radius aura of terror while you are riding it. Any creature hostile to you that starts its turn in the aura must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or be frightened of the goat for 1 minute, or
                                                
                                            
                                        
                                                     Compendium
                                                    
                                                    
                                                         - Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->D&D Beyond Basic Rules
                                                    
                                                
                                            
                                                    , and takes its turn immediately after you on your Initiative count. If you issue no commands, the creature defends itself but takes no other actions. The creature exists for a duration specific to each
                                                
                                            
                                                
                                                     saving throw or have the Frightened condition for 1 minute, until you are no longer riding the goat, or until the goat reverts to figurine form. The Frightened creature repeats the save at the end of each
                                                
                                            
                                        






