Level
1st
Casting Time
1 Bonus Action
Range/Area
60 ft.
Components
V, S, M *
Duration
Concentration
10 Minutes
School
Abjuration
Attack/Save
None
Damage/Effect
Buff (...)
A shimmering field appears and surrounds a creature of your choice within range, granting it a +2 bonus to AC for the duration.
* - (a small parchment with a bit of holy text written on it)






-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 15, 2019Does this stack with a physical shield? It has "shield" in the name and the same AC bonus, but nothing else in the description makes me think it would not.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 19, 2019Yes it does stack with a regular shield (giving you an effective +4 to your AC), however just make sure that any character casting this spell has at least one hand free because the spell requires a hand motion (as per the "S" under components).
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 20, 2019If you take the War Caster feat you don't need a free hand.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 21, 2019If you are a cleric with a holy symbol on the shield, or Pact of the Blade with Pact weapon they count as foci and I thought foci automatically counted as a free hand for casting. Am I mistaken?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 21, 2019As long as your holy symbol (or other divine focus) is visible while you're wearing it (eg. around your neck, dangling from your wrist, affixed to your shield) then that takes care of the M component (see the rules for material components). However, the rules governing the S component state that the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures (see the rules for somatic components). This can make spell casting a bit tricky in battle (for spells with an S component), however, as part of your movement action, you can either stow or retrieve an object (sadly not both).
This means that while wielding your weapon, you can first stow it, then cast your spell. On your next turn you could retrieve it, then attack. Unfortunately this makes it so that you would not be able to use your weapon for attacks of opportunity while it is stowed between turns.
That said, if you were to cast this at the start of an encounter when you are presumably not yet wielding your weapon, you could first cast it using your free hand, then retrieve your weapon as part of your move action on your first turn.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 22, 2019I got it. I just went back and reread the relevant section of chapter 10 under Material Components. it was the last paragraph that I had misremembered/misunderstood: "A spellcaster must have a hand free to access these components, but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components." Thank you for helping me understand the rules better. I used to play 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 3.5 ed, I'm still learning 5th edition so this was helpful. Much obliged!
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 20, 2019can you cast this on yourself?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 25, 2019Bump...Can you cast it on yourself?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 5, 2019"...a creature of your choice ..." always includes yourself.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 27, 2020Yes, as per previous editions as well if I'm not mistaken. Unless the spell says otherwise and its kind of beneficial, the caster can choose to be its recipient.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 1, 2020Can you cast this on two different characters or can it only be cast on one creature at a time?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 2, 2020Can multiple people cast it on the same person for a stacked effect?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 6, 2020Is the parchment consumed when you cast the spell?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 12, 2020You typically can only cast it on one creature at a time. This is because the spell requires concentration (the C in the duration), and you can normally only concentrate on one spell at a time. There are ways around this, but most of them require a lot of preparation or are from third-party sourcebooks, as concentration is very important to balancing spellcasting.
Spells that consume their components specify so in the materials section. Since this spell doesn't mention it, the parchment is not consumed. (It would say "which the spell consumes" otherwise.)
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 12, 2020No. As a general rule, multiple castings of the same spell do not stack. See the rules on Combining Magical Effects here (or on page 205 of the PHB). The strongest instance of the spell is the one that takes effect (irrelevant for this spell since it only has one strength setting).
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 7, 2020"A creature of your choice..." always includes yourself
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 26, 2020Technical question, how do you stop it from counting toward your AC, like after a rest?
The "long rest" button doesn't seem to remove the bonus.
P.S: Sorry for the character name, I am bearing my past mistake.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 2, 2021Can you cast spells or attack from within it?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 16, 2021Yes. Shield of Faith is a flat AC boost and it does not interfere with spells/attacks/etc.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 17, 2021Can a cleric make the parchment, ie can they write holy text on parchment?