You conjure a mass of thick, sticky webbing at a point of your choice within range. The webs fill a 20-foot cube from that point for the duration. The webs are difficult terrain and lightly obscure their area.
If the webs aren't anchored between two solid masses (such as walls or trees) or layered across a floor, wall, or ceiling, the conjured web collapses on itself, and the spell ends at the start of your next turn. Webs layered over a flat surface have a depth of 5 feet.
Each creature that starts its turn in the webs or that enters them during its turn must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the creature is restrained as long as it remains in the webs or until it breaks free.
A creature restrained by the webs can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC. If it succeeds, it is no longer restrained.
The webs are flammable. Any 5-foot cube of webs exposed to fire burns away in 1 round, dealing 2d4 fire damage to any creature that starts its turn in the fire.
* - (a bit of spiderweb)






-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 19, 2019Does this spell get impacted by draconic bloodline sorcerers at level 6 if there affinity is fire?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 5, 2019I would strongly doubt it as the spell does not directly cause fire damage - any fire damage from burning webs is incidental. Put another way, the fire damage from burning webs is not magical fire damage, and thus would not be affected by the Sorcerer's Elemental Affinity feature any more than if the forced movement of a Gust of Wind spell pushed something into contact with a source of fire and caused it to take fire damage.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 12, 2019If a creature in the middle of the 20' cube breaks free of the web and in the same turn moves into another 5 feet of web, does this trigger another Dex save? In other words, is navigating the web considered "entering the webs" for every 5 feet covered by it?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 23, 2019I was just considering this as my wizard just picked up the spell. Here's my interpretation:
When a creature enters the space or starts in it they make a Dex save, failure means they're restrained. I think if they succeed they should be able to move through the webbing, still considering it is difficult terrain (double movement cost). If they don't make it out they would have to do a Dex save at the start of their next turn per the spell description. Rinse, repeat. Additionally I would think succeeding the Str check after being restrained would work the same, difficult terrain movement through any further webbing the rest of the turn.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Apr 5, 2020No, because the target already is in the web - it doesn't enter it anew.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 11, 2020How much would this spell weigh? im assuming that the strands are much much thicker than a normal spiderweb if it can restrain quite large creatures
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 16, 2020It can restrain any creature that fails the inital save, and then fails the 'strength' check to break free, regardless of size of the creature.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 10, 2020Casting Word is:
Interlacium Fixus
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 19, 2020I know the reasons for them not are basically historic (how it was handled in previous editions) but all druids should really get this.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 25, 2020Fighter 2 / Wizard or Sorcerer 5+:
Web + action surge Fireball on a Huge creature =
For a huge creature (20x20x20) taking up the full volume of web, that yields 128d4 damage on top of whatever damage fireball itself does. :D
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 21, 2020If you have a spider familiar, you should have this spell. You can make a bridge for your spider to cross chasms! Or, I guess, just throw the spider.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 18, 2020It says starts or enters
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 18, 2020Yes, but you don't enter the web anew if you just move around inside it. "enter" refers to going from outside the web to inside the web
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 8, 2020Correct. Obviously both Druids and Rangers should have access to this.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 11, 2021You can't cast two spells in one round.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 11, 2021You can, as long as neither is a bonus action spell. :)
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 14, 2021PHB, p. 202.
'You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.'
Question: Can I misty step (bonus), fire bolt (action) and fireball (surge) on same turn? Or need action surge also be a cantrip?
Crawford: In that situation, the Action Surge spell would also need to be a cantrip
Crawford: The rule on bonus action spells pertains to your whole turn, not to a particular action (PH, 202).
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 14, 2021That's an incomplete quote. The full passage reads:
"Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action."
So this limitation ONLY applies if one of the spells you cast is a bonus action spell.
Web + Fireball via Action surge = OK
Web + Magic Stone = X
Web + Misty Step = X
In the Crawford quote, the problem is that he cast Misty Step. That's why he can't then go on to do Fireball.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 19, 2021I actually never knew that the limit was applied only to bonus actions but it does make sense. Otherwise you could never counterspell a counterspell unless your original spell was a cantrip. To add another source to this I found a passage in the SA Compendium from a post on Stack Exchange.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 19, 2021I tend to disagree here. I was looking into it for clarification about Arcane Firearm and Web. The feature specifies "one of the spell’s damage rolls" and under Combat -> Damage and Healing in the PHB it says:
Since Web specifies the damage and die I assume that makes it a spell damage roll, and therefor spell damage.
I can only think of 2 things that specify damage when ignited, Web and a flask of oil. They could have easily omitted the flammable part on Web so its inclusion leads me to believe that it's intentional spell damage.
In the end though talk to your DM about it.