I've noticed that there is some conflicting information regarding the rules for the Armorer Artificer's lvl 15 subclass feature Perfected Armor. The conflict is between the information presented on the Artificer class page, and the information presented on the tooltip for the ability on a character sheet for an Artificer with this ability. Below is the full text from both instances:
On the Artificer Class page: Guardian. When a Huge or smaller creature you can see ends its turn within 30 feet of you, you can use your reaction to magically force it to make a Strength saving throw against your spell save DC. On a failed save, you pull the creature up to 25 feet directly to an unoccupied space. If you pull the target to a space within 5 feet of you, you can make a melee weapon attack against it as part of this reaction.
You can use this reaction a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses of it when you finish a long rest.
On a character sheet for an Artificer with this ability: When a Huge or smaller creature you can see ends its turn within 30 feet of you, you can use your reaction to magically force the creature to make a Strength saving throw against your spell save DC, pulling the creature up to 30 feet toward you to an unoccupied space. If you pull the target to a space within 5 feet of you, you can make a melee weapon attack against it as part of this reaction.
You can use this reaction a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses of it when you finish a long rest.
I see two main conflicting pieces of information. The first is very obvious. On the class page, the ability states the maximum pull distance is 25ft, on the character sheet, it states the maximum pull distance is 30ft. The second conflict is more subtle, and there is some room for rules interpretation. The class page states the ability can pull a creature to an unoccupied space within range. It does not explicitly state the pull direction must be toward the user of the ability. I would therefore argue it doesn't have to be toward the creature using the ability. For reference, warlocks have a similar 'pull' ability called Grasp of Hadar, but the text of that skill explicitly states the direction is toward the caster. This ability does not. This information is relevant when you look at the text for the skill in the character sheet. Here, the text DOES explicitly state the direction is toward the user of the ability.
It seems to me that the text for the ability in the character sheet ought to be updated to match the text on the class page. Specifically, changing the 30ft pull distance to 25ft, and removing the phrase "toward you" from the description.
I would agree, it also conflicts with wording written in books as well. And makes you wonder if the 25 ft description is correct or not, or is it an errata
The information on the character sheets is abridged. When you click on the feature on the character sheet it will bring up the sidebar with the full description from the subclass. Always go by what the class page states. In this case, the 30 feet, and the “towards you” are both artifacts from the original UA version of the subclass. The 25 feet and the omission of the phrase “towards you” were both changes made before it went into official publication in Tasha’s Cauldron.
This issue seems like it would be extremely easy to fix. The text on the character sheet doesn't have any "mechanics" tied to it. It's just text. AT MOST there are some tooltips, but the text itself does not interact with the dice roller or anything else "mechanical."
Fixing this should require literally 15 seconds of retyping the text on the backend.
Correct. In fact, there are no tooltips either because those don’t work in snippet fields. It would literally require no more than changing 30 to 25, and deleting two words.
I've noticed that there is some conflicting information regarding the rules for the Armorer Artificer's lvl 15 subclass feature Perfected Armor. The conflict is between the information presented on the Artificer class page, and the information presented on the tooltip for the ability on a character sheet for an Artificer with this ability. Below is the full text from both instances:
On the Artificer Class page:
Guardian. When a Huge or smaller creature you can see ends its turn within 30 feet of you, you can use your reaction to magically force it to make a Strength saving throw against your spell save DC. On a failed save, you pull the creature up to 25 feet directly to an unoccupied space. If you pull the target to a space within 5 feet of you, you can make a melee weapon attack against it as part of this reaction.
You can use this reaction a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses of it when you finish a long rest.
On a character sheet for an Artificer with this ability:
When a Huge or smaller creature you can see ends its turn within 30 feet of you, you can use your reaction to magically force the creature to make a Strength saving throw against your spell save DC, pulling the creature up to 30 feet toward you to an unoccupied space. If you pull the target to a space within 5 feet of you, you can make a melee weapon attack against it as part of this reaction.
You can use this reaction a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses of it when you finish a long rest.
I see two main conflicting pieces of information. The first is very obvious. On the class page, the ability states the maximum pull distance is 25ft, on the character sheet, it states the maximum pull distance is 30ft. The second conflict is more subtle, and there is some room for rules interpretation. The class page states the ability can pull a creature to an unoccupied space within range. It does not explicitly state the pull direction must be toward the user of the ability. I would therefore argue it doesn't have to be toward the creature using the ability. For reference, warlocks have a similar 'pull' ability called Grasp of Hadar, but the text of that skill explicitly states the direction is toward the caster. This ability does not. This information is relevant when you look at the text for the skill in the character sheet. Here, the text DOES explicitly state the direction is toward the user of the ability.
It seems to me that the text for the ability in the character sheet ought to be updated to match the text on the class page. Specifically, changing the 30ft pull distance to 25ft, and removing the phrase "toward you" from the description.
I would agree, it also conflicts with wording written in books as well. And makes you wonder if the 25 ft description is correct or not, or is it an errata
The information on the character sheets is abridged. When you click on the feature on the character sheet it will bring up the sidebar with the full description from the subclass. Always go by what the class page states. In this case, the 30 feet, and the “towards you” are both artifacts from the original UA version of the subclass. The 25 feet and the omission of the phrase “towards you” were both changes made before it went into official publication in Tasha’s Cauldron.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
This issue seems like it would be extremely easy to fix. The text on the character sheet doesn't have any "mechanics" tied to it. It's just text. AT MOST there are some tooltips, but the text itself does not interact with the dice roller or anything else "mechanical."
Fixing this should require literally 15 seconds of retyping the text on the backend.
Correct. In fact, there are no tooltips either because those don’t work in snippet fields. It would literally require no more than changing 30 to 25, and deleting two words.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting