It's not an unarmed strike (nor counts as one) by default.
IF a DM is cool with it counting as a "simple or martial weapon" (which it doesn't state as such, but there's only the two types but special cases like the arcane propulsion arm doesn't necessarily need to follow normal weapon categories), then a monk can be a kensei and select it as a kensei weapon in order to make it count as a monk weapon.
If such a case for a kensei/monk weapon is allowed, then:
* Kensei shot would be applicable.
* Agile parry would be applicable, as long as unarmed strike was also used for the attack action.
* Can use the Martial Arts bonus action attack after attacking with the arm.
arcane propulsion arm on a monk i feel like its up to the DM for it is a prosthetic arm that have a built in "ROCKET PUNCH" fetcher on it but it still a "arm" that they can still punch with it but ones more it up to the DM.
Seems like this item is poorly worded. It’s a fully capable arm so one would assume you can punch with it, hence unarmed strike. And if I was DM I would probably allow it as such. You could even wield a weapon in that hand, if you wanted to (like a quarterstaff two handed for 1d8 damage. Then follow up with it as an unarmed strike.
I get that by RAW it does not qualify as an unarmed strike so wouldn’t benefit a monk much. Just seems like a missed opportunity. And it’s hard to tell if they specifically wrote it that way so monks or other unarmed fighters couldn’t benefit from it. Or if, like in many other places, they wrote rules in certain ways that have since been modified over the years since they weren’t used as intended.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/arcane-propulsion-arm
Just curious. How does this magic item interact with being a Monk?
DCI: 3319125026
Your unarmed strikes suddenly do 1d8 force damage and can be thrown.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
This was just an idle thought at first, but now that I look into it I've found the mitigating factor.
By the time (level) a Monk is going to be able to afford a Very Rare item, they're going to be doing 1d8 with their attacks anyway.
DCI: 3319125026
But not force damage, at range.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
But it isn’t a monk weapon.
DCI: 3319125026
But it counts as an unarmed strike, it doesn't need to be a monk weapon.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
Not when firing at range.
DCI: 3319125026
What makes you think it counts as an unarmed strike? Nothing in the description suggests this. It's a melee weapon.
First thing that comes to mind:
https://youtu.be/vVfv1YctCLg
It's not an unarmed strike (nor counts as one) by default.
IF a DM is cool with it counting as a "simple or martial weapon" (which it doesn't state as such, but there's only the two types but special cases like the arcane propulsion arm doesn't necessarily need to follow normal weapon categories), then a monk can be a kensei and select it as a kensei weapon in order to make it count as a monk weapon.
If such a case for a kensei/monk weapon is allowed, then:
* Kensei shot would be applicable.
* Agile parry would be applicable, as long as unarmed strike was also used for the attack action.
* Can use the Martial Arts bonus action attack after attacking with the arm.
arcane propulsion arm on a monk i feel like its up to the DM for it is a prosthetic arm that have a built in "ROCKET PUNCH" fetcher on it but it still a "arm" that they can still punch with it but ones more it up to the DM.
Seems like this item is poorly worded. It’s a fully capable arm so one would assume you can punch with it, hence unarmed strike. And if I was DM I would probably allow it as such. You could even wield a weapon in that hand, if you wanted to (like a quarterstaff two handed for 1d8 damage. Then follow up with it as an unarmed strike.
I get that by RAW it does not qualify as an unarmed strike so wouldn’t benefit a monk much. Just seems like a missed opportunity. And it’s hard to tell if they specifically wrote it that way so monks or other unarmed fighters couldn’t benefit from it. Or if, like in many other places, they wrote rules in certain ways that have since been modified over the years since they weren’t used as intended.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?