what?unless I'm stupid which I'm not denying I'm pretty sure it's the use magic item action.every source I've seen says it it
“Use Magic Item” is not a thing in the 2024 rules. Casting a spell with a one-action casting time uses a Magic action even if it’s cast from an item.
...its called the use action. Y'know, the action you take to use an object? Look in your PHB, buddy.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm just your everyday dungeon master. Ignore that jar full of souls. And those bones in the corner are just props, don't worry. I'm definitely NOT a lich. Definitely.
Yes, I like beholders. Yes, I curated an exquisite personality for commoner #2864. Yes, my catchphrase is "are you sure?"
The "using intelligence as your spellcasting ability" phrase only means that if the spell description contains some feature reliant on spellcasting ability (such as Dispel Magic), the Rogue's Intelligence would be used. Since spell scrolls don't use spellcasting ability to calculate hit/DC (they're fixed upon creation of the spell scroll), your spellcasting ability doesn't matter for their hit/DC.
Ordinarily, the only way you can use a Scroll is if it appears on your spell list - which tells you what the spellcasting ability associated with that spell will be. However, you still use the default hit/DC regardless of what your own personal stat will be. Nothing about the Thief's Scroll Use ability changes this rule - it merely identifies what spellcasting ability you should use if it's called upon (which it normally isn't) since Thief Rogues aren't using Scrolls of spells that appear on their list.
Honestly? I'm inclined to agree with this logic, especially because:
Spell scrolls' save DC's and spell attack bonuses reflect the abilities of the person who craft them, and I don't know why Thief Rogues would get special treatment on this front.
The 2024 rules are pretty deliberately explicit about what they do and don't intend, and it would have said "the spell save DC and spell attack of the scroll is 8 + your proficiency bonus + your intelligence modifier" if that was the intent.
The 2014 Thief, which we can at least use to get a peek into the heads of the developers, doesn't mention anything about adjusting the spell DC's of scrolls. So it's safe to assume their intention in adding the language about Intelligence being your spellcasting ability was intended to clarify any confusion around spells like Dispel Magic rather than to allow you to substitute the scroll's spell DC for your own.
In the rules on "Spells Cast From Items," it states: "A magic item may require the user to use their own spellcasting ability when casting a spell from the item. If the user has more than one spellcasting ability, the user chooses which one to use with the item. If the user doesn’t have a spellcasting ability, their spellcasting ability modifier is +0 for the item, and the user’s Proficiency Bonus applies." Safe to assume, then, that the Thief ability is intended to allow the Thief to have some spellcasting ability modifier, instead of none.
That said, spell scrolls' save DC's and spell attack bonuses reflect the abilities of its crafter. So, if you can find a high-level spell crafter to make your scrolls, or if you can convince the party caster to surrender a considerable amount of their personal time to make spells for you, then you can go nuts. And, as always, if you and your DM interpret the rules differently, then it's a game, do what you want, have fun.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
“Use Magic Item” is not a thing in the 2024 rules. Casting a spell with a one-action casting time uses a Magic action even if it’s cast from an item.
pronouns: he/she/they
dang nvm then I was mistaken
uhhhh
Trans demigurl
pronouns she/they but just call me insults(I find it humorous)
I like spaghetti and all things lovecraftian,plus homebrew is my hobby
bisexual but taken so I'm in all Bi-myself *please laugh*
ducks are the superior species :3
(not a duck :( unfortunately)
...its called the use action. Y'know, the action you take to use an object? Look in your PHB, buddy.
I'm just your everyday dungeon master. Ignore that jar full of souls. And those bones in the corner are just props, don't worry. I'm definitely NOT a lich. Definitely.
Yes, I like beholders. Yes, I curated an exquisite personality for commoner #2864. Yes, my catchphrase is "are you sure?"
.-. .- -. -.. --- -- / -- --- .-. ... . / -.-. --- -.. . .-.-.-
PM "Avocado" to Pug_With_Big_Weapons for a prize.
Don't touch the Jar
The action you’re talking about is actually called Utilize, and it is not the action used when casting a spell from a magic item.
pronouns: he/she/they
Honestly? I'm inclined to agree with this logic, especially because:
That said, spell scrolls' save DC's and spell attack bonuses reflect the abilities of its crafter. So, if you can find a high-level spell crafter to make your scrolls, or if you can convince the party caster to surrender a considerable amount of their personal time to make spells for you, then you can go nuts. And, as always, if you and your DM interpret the rules differently, then it's a game, do what you want, have fun.