I chose the Fey Touched feat for my variant human mage and picked Dissonant Whispers spell. On the character sheet now I have a "Use" button, that allows me to use it once per long rest. That's fine according to the first part of the feat description.
On the other hand the feat also says: "You can also cast these spells using spell slots you have of the appropriate level." Actually I don't see the possibility for that atm (I have 1st level slots). Is that feature not implemented yet or am I misreading something?
Technically I am not 100% how this latter option should work with a mage: am I supposed to be able to prepare it as a normal mage spell or should it appear as an allways prepared option? Still none of these options seem to be implemented. Could you help me out please?
I do not think you need to prepare it, since the feat description does not say this is necessary. It is the case that there is not currently a "cast" button for spells from feats like this one. But all you need to do is manually check off a spell slot as used to "cast" it. The cast button on the sheet doesn't do anything more than automatically mark off the slot.
That's ok, and what about upcasting? Either from the feat's limited use itself (it does not state you can cast it only as a 1st level spell, only that you can pick a 1st level spell to get for the feat) or when you cast it for your own spell slots. Sorry it became a more game related question than dndbeyond specific one, but dndbeyond programmed mechanics usually solve these kind of questions for me, but not this one :(
The once/day free is automatically at the spell’s lowest level, to upcast requires a spell slot which would mean you aren’t using the free casting. But any casting you do using spell slots should be viable for upcasting.
Hi!
I chose the Fey Touched feat for my variant human mage and picked Dissonant Whispers spell. On the character sheet now I have a "Use" button, that allows me to use it once per long rest. That's fine according to the first part of the feat description.
On the other hand the feat also says: "You can also cast these spells using spell slots you have of the appropriate level." Actually I don't see the possibility for that atm (I have 1st level slots). Is that feature not implemented yet or am I misreading something?
Technically I am not 100% how this latter option should work with a mage: am I supposed to be able to prepare it as a normal mage spell or should it appear as an allways prepared option? Still none of these options seem to be implemented. Could you help me out please?
Thy in advance
I do not think you need to prepare it, since the feat description does not say this is necessary. It is the case that there is not currently a "cast" button for spells from feats like this one. But all you need to do is manually check off a spell slot as used to "cast" it. The cast button on the sheet doesn't do anything more than automatically mark off the slot.
Trying to Decide if DDB is for you? A few helpful threads: A Buyer's Guide to DDB; What I/We Bought and Why; How some DMs use DDB; A Newer Thread on Using DDB to Play
Helpful threads on other topics: Homebrew FAQ by IamSposta; Accessing Content by ConalTheGreat;
Check your entitlements here. | Support Ticket LInk
That's ok, and what about upcasting? Either from the feat's limited use itself (it does not state you can cast it only as a 1st level spell, only that you can pick a 1st level spell to get for the feat) or when you cast it for your own spell slots. Sorry it became a more game related question than dndbeyond specific one, but dndbeyond programmed mechanics usually solve these kind of questions for me, but not this one :(
The once/day free is automatically at the spell’s lowest level, to upcast requires a spell slot which would mean you aren’t using the free casting. But any casting you do using spell slots should be viable for upcasting.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting