Does magic initiate spells count as the character's class spell? I do not think they do. Do initiate spell count as as spells or abilities? Can an artificer use it's initiate spells to infuse item spell dohicies(not infusions thingamabobbers)?
Backstory buddies think artificer is op because player took magic initiate on artificer to cast shield in/on a ring 8 times to power through all encounters.
Well that's a damm unfair comparison, if your that level, you can have aura of protection from paladin (which is far stronger the mentioned spell infusion thing, granting a similar bonus to allies nearby, to all saves, constantly)
Actually, yes. But only if you are the same class as you chose for the feat (Artificer is not an option for Magic Initiate).
The feat:
Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class's spell list.
In addition, choose one 1st-level spell from that same list. You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level. Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again using this feat.
Your spellcasting ability for these spells depends on the class you chose: Charisma for bard, sorcerer, or warlock; Wisdom for cleric or druid; or Intelligence for wizard.
The wording that is from the class spell list means it will be treated as a class spell for that class. The fact it says "you learn" the spells means you know it as a class spell. This means if you have the same class this is a class spell you know and can cast using your spellcasting class feature. If you chose Sorcerer and the Shield spell and you were a Sorcerer - you now get to cast it once per day for free AND can cast it using spell slots.
If you’re a spellcaster, can you pick your own class when you gain the Magic Initiate feat?
Yes, the feat doesn’t say you can’t. For example, if you’re a wizard and gain the Magic Initiate feat, you can choose wizard and thereby learn two more wizard cantrips and another 1st-level wizard spell.
If you have spell slots, can you use them to cast the 1st-level spell you learn with the Magic Initiate feat?
Yes, but only if the class you pick for the feat is one of your classes. For example, if you pick sorcerer and you are a sorcerer, the Spellcasting feature for that class tells you that you can use your spell slots to cast the sorcerer spells you know, so you can use your spell slots to cast the 1st-level sorcerer spell you learn from Magic Initiate. Similarly, if you are a wizard and pick that class for the feat, you learn a 1st-level wizard spell, which you could add to your spellbook and subsequently prepare.
In short, you must follow your character’s normal spellcasting rules, which determine whether you can expend spell slots on the 1st-level spell you learn from Magic Initiate.
However, Artificer is not on the list for Magic Initiate. So even if you chose Wizard and the Shield spell - it will not count as an Artificer spell and cannot be cast using the Artificer spellcasting feature.
If the Artificer wants to have an extra artificer spell to use in a similar fashion as the MI feat, they can take Artificer Initiate. It works similar but the Shield spell is not an Artificer spell you can pick with this feat.
This is a deliberate design choice.
But this isn't too big of a deal since some Artificer subclasses let you pick Shield spell anyway. So what the PC is doing is not broken and is part of the Artificer's abilities. It's nothing any other spellcaster can't do with a Ring of Spellstoring or such. And 18th level wizards could cast Shield infinitely without spell slots.
Powerful? Yes. But not broken and is a deliberate design element.
Shield spell is super useful against attacks. Utterly useless against stuff requiring saving throws. So for the artificer with lots of Shields, just have enemies with features/spells/etc that require saving throws.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Does magic initiate spells count as the character's class spell? I do not think they do. Do initiate spell count as as spells or abilities? Can an artificer use it's initiate spells to infuse item spell dohicies(not infusions thingamabobbers)?
Backstory buddies think artificer is op because player took magic initiate on artificer to cast shield in/on a ring 8 times to power through all encounters.
Magic Intiate spells do not count as class spells, if they did, it would say so.
My homebrew content: Monsters, subclasses, Magic items, Feats, spells, races, backgrounds
I been out of the loopsince covid are artificers super OP?
I i've seen several people say they are, with arguments that took less then a minute to break.
They look powerful, like all classes except ranger and sorcerer do, but they are fine balance wise.
My homebrew content: Monsters, subclasses, Magic items, Feats, spells, races, backgrounds
Ohh and they were playing at lvl 12. I would think most classes would blossom by then.
Well that's a damm unfair comparison, if your that level, you can have aura of protection from paladin (which is far stronger the mentioned spell infusion thing, granting a similar bonus to allies nearby, to all saves, constantly)
My homebrew content: Monsters, subclasses, Magic items, Feats, spells, races, backgrounds
Actually, yes. But only if you are the same class as you chose for the feat (Artificer is not an option for Magic Initiate).
The feat:
The wording that is from the class spell list means it will be treated as a class spell for that class. The fact it says "you learn" the spells means you know it as a class spell. This means if you have the same class this is a class spell you know and can cast using your spellcasting class feature. If you chose Sorcerer and the Shield spell and you were a Sorcerer - you now get to cast it once per day for free AND can cast it using spell slots.
This is confirmed in Sage Advice:
However, Artificer is not on the list for Magic Initiate. So even if you chose Wizard and the Shield spell - it will not count as an Artificer spell and cannot be cast using the Artificer spellcasting feature.
If the Artificer wants to have an extra artificer spell to use in a similar fashion as the MI feat, they can take Artificer Initiate. It works similar but the Shield spell is not an Artificer spell you can pick with this feat.
This is a deliberate design choice.
But this isn't too big of a deal since some Artificer subclasses let you pick Shield spell anyway. So what the PC is doing is not broken and is part of the Artificer's abilities. It's nothing any other spellcaster can't do with a Ring of Spellstoring or such. And 18th level wizards could cast Shield infinitely without spell slots.
Powerful? Yes. But not broken and is a deliberate design element.
Shield spell is super useful against attacks. Utterly useless against stuff requiring saving throws. So for the artificer with lots of Shields, just have enemies with features/spells/etc that require saving throws.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.