The Sunblade is a magic longsword and as they have proficiency in martial weapons they may use it.
As per the blood rite on Sunblade, the DM can rule it however they see fit, but for a RAW interpretation of the rules yes they can as it is the weapon they enchant to have the blade being surrounded by the appropriate rite. the only rule is "Should your weapon leave your grip, the rite fades immediately. An active rite on a weapon thrown fades directly after the attack is complete."
In our campaign, our blood hunter came in possession of a Sun Blade.
Can Blood Hunters use their magic on magic weapons like this?
If yes, with the Sun Blade (which has a retractable radiant blade, not material), would the magic work on the blade or just the hilt?
If the blade, does the blood magic stop if he doesn't sheath the hilt, but does retract the blade?
Thoughts?
The Sunblade is a magic longsword and as they have proficiency in martial weapons they may use it.
As per the blood rite on Sunblade, the DM can rule it however they see fit, but for a RAW interpretation of the rules yes they can as it is the weapon they enchant to have the blade being surrounded by the appropriate rite. the only rule is "Should your weapon leave your grip, the rite fades immediately. An active rite on a weapon thrown fades directly after the attack is complete."
All the rules though can be found in the crimson rite feature. https://www.dndbeyond.com/characters/classes/blood-hunter#ClassFeatures
Loex - A Lizardfolk Lvl 4/7/4 Hexblade Profane Blood Hunter/ Battlesmith Artificer/ Cleric of the Forge
Arborea - A Warforged Lvl 5 Hexblade Warlock
Archive - A Autognome Lvl 3 Old One Warlock
ER15 - A Autognome Lvl 7 Binder Warlock
DM - "Malign Intelligence"