So we have the new Counterspell. A spellcaster that casts a levelled spell and gets Counterspelled has to pass a Con save or the spell doesn't take effect and the caster's spell slot is not expended, but you can't Counterspell a Counterspell in the same turn because the Magic action rules state that you cannot cast more than 1 spell on your turn with a spell slot. You can for example cast a Counterspell on a Counterspell with a spell scroll as a scroll doesn't expend a slot, it expends itself sort of... so this gives more incentive to Wizard class characters to create spell scrolls.
However, for a Sorcerer!!! If I understand the rules correctly, the Sorcerer can cast a levelled spell, then get Counterspelled by hypothetically not passing a Con save and thus not expending their spell slot because the spell didn't take effect, it was Counterspelled and then use a Quickened Spell to cast the same spell they originally intended to, because they can, because they haven't cast a spell with a spell slot on their turn because the first attempt was countered. Unless I misunderstand the new rules or just need to see them in full rather than in a few content creator videos. Because, does the new rulebook explain if the what the reality is when say a Fireball is Counterspelled? Is the Fireball considered to be cast with a spellslot even though it was Counterspelled and thus it was not cast and the spell slot was not expended? Or am I overthinking it?
As i have ordered, but do not have the new 2024 PHB, I cannot answer the specific question, and would assume that no one else in the same situation will be able to.
Maybe someone that got the new PHB at GenCon can respond if they see this.
Again, not knowing how the new Counterspell is worded, I'm going to try and give some input/opinion on some of the other topics you discussed.
in your first paragraph, I agree that using a Spell Scroll does not expend a Spell Slot, but unless the caster has done something to increase their action economy, they would not be able to Cast a Spell with a Spell Slot, have it counterspelled, then take the time to remove their Spell Scroll from it's container, open the Spell Scroll, read the spell scroll, then try to activate it. (Cast Spell [using slot] is an Action, enemy uses a Reaction to Counterspell, so the original caster would still have their Movement and any Bonus Actions that are specific to them)
As far as Sorcerers using Sorcery Points to cast your intended Spell using Quickened Spell, that could happen even before the 2024 changes come through.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Breathe, dragons; sing of the First World, forged out of chaos and painted with beauty. Sing of Bahamut, the Platinum, molding the shape of the mountains and rivers; Sing too of Chromatic Tiamat, painting all over the infinite canvas. Partnered, they woke in the darkness; partnered, they labored in acts of creation.
I would tend to rule that casting a spell that gets counterspelled still counts as casting that spell and thus restricts other spells the same turn, but I'm not aware of an official ruling.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So we have the new Counterspell. A spellcaster that casts a levelled spell and gets Counterspelled has to pass a Con save or the spell doesn't take effect and the caster's spell slot is not expended, but you can't Counterspell a Counterspell in the same turn because the Magic action rules state that you cannot cast more than 1 spell on your turn with a spell slot. You can for example cast a Counterspell on a Counterspell with a spell scroll as a scroll doesn't expend a slot, it expends itself sort of... so this gives more incentive to Wizard class characters to create spell scrolls.
However, for a Sorcerer!!! If I understand the rules correctly, the Sorcerer can cast a levelled spell, then get Counterspelled by hypothetically not passing a Con save and thus not expending their spell slot because the spell didn't take effect, it was Counterspelled and then use a Quickened Spell to cast the same spell they originally intended to, because they can, because they haven't cast a spell with a spell slot on their turn because the first attempt was countered. Unless I misunderstand the new rules or just need to see them in full rather than in a few content creator videos. Because, does the new rulebook explain if the what the reality is when say a Fireball is Counterspelled? Is the Fireball considered to be cast with a spellslot even though it was Counterspelled and thus it was not cast and the spell slot was not expended? Or am I overthinking it?
Greetings Lespirit,
As i have ordered, but do not have the new 2024 PHB, I cannot answer the specific question, and would assume that no one else in the same situation will be able to.
Maybe someone that got the new PHB at GenCon can respond if they see this.
Again, not knowing how the new Counterspell is worded, I'm going to try and give some input/opinion on some of the other topics you discussed.
in your first paragraph, I agree that using a Spell Scroll does not expend a Spell Slot, but unless the caster has done something to increase their action economy, they would not be able to Cast a Spell with a Spell Slot, have it counterspelled, then take the time to remove their Spell Scroll from it's container, open the Spell Scroll, read the spell scroll, then try to activate it.
(Cast Spell [using slot] is an Action, enemy uses a Reaction to Counterspell, so the original caster would still have their Movement and any Bonus Actions that are specific to them)
As far as Sorcerers using Sorcery Points to cast your intended Spell using Quickened Spell, that could happen even before the 2024 changes come through.
Breathe, dragons; sing of the First World, forged out of chaos and painted with beauty.
Sing of Bahamut, the Platinum, molding the shape of the mountains and rivers;
Sing too of Chromatic Tiamat, painting all over the infinite canvas.
Partnered, they woke in the darkness; partnered, they labored in acts of creation.
I would tend to rule that casting a spell that gets counterspelled still counts as casting that spell and thus restricts other spells the same turn, but I'm not aware of an official ruling.