I'll start by saying, I know you only get 1ba per turn. You can't use it to perform an action (except some rogue abilities).
Can you use your turn for movement and a bonus action and NOT take an action?
Yeah, "why would you want to do that??" First, try answering the question.
Here's a possiblity I was faced with: cleric with 2 levels of fighter. Action spirit guardians. Action surge, bonus action sanctuary (being the only ACTION on that surge), run past a line of baddies so that they all get hit by spirit guardians and they have a harder time targeting the cleric under sanctuary.
Second was, party is getting hurt bad, decide to hoof it out of there. Everybody is double dashing. Cleric uses motion, action for motion, bonus action healing word.
You are not obligating to use your action on your turn if you don't want.
However, in the case of the cleric: if you use your bonus action to cast a spell then all other spells for your turn must be cantrips. It doesn't matter if you action surge or not. The ruling on that has nothing to do with how many actions just that if you cast a spell as a bonus action, all other spells that turn must be cantrips. Now, you could not use your bonus action and then cast two spells with the action and the action surge.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
You are not obligating to use your action on your turn if you don't want.
Correct. However, it rarely makes sense to skip your action, since you can always benefit from the Dodge, Help or Ready actions if you don't have anything better to do.
However, in the case of the cleric: if you use your bonus action to cast a spell then all other spells for your turn must be cantrips. It doesn't matter if you action surge or not. The ruling on that has nothing to do with how many actions just that if you cast a spell as a bonus action, all other spells that turn must be cantrips. Now, you could not use your bonus action and then cast two spells with the action and the action surge.
Also all correct. There was no need to Action Surge in that scenario.
Finally, you can't damage a bunch of enemies by running past them with Spirit Guardians. They have to enter the spell's area; that's not the same as you passing the spell's area over them. At best you can set the area up over some of them so they take damage at the start of their turn. This is covered in Sage Advice Compendium.
I'll start by saying, I know you only get 1ba per turn. You can't use it to perform an action (except some rogue abilities).
Can you use your turn for movement and a bonus action and NOT take an action?
Yeah, "why would you want to do that??" First, try answering the question.
Here's a possiblity I was faced with: cleric with 2 levels of fighter. Action spirit guardians. Action surge, bonus action sanctuary (being the only ACTION on that surge), run past a line of baddies so that they all get hit by spirit guardians and they have a harder time targeting the cleric under sanctuary.
Second was, party is getting hurt bad, decide to hoof it out of there. Everybody is double dashing. Cleric uses motion, action for motion, bonus action healing word.
You are not obligating to use your action on your turn if you don't want.
However, in the case of the cleric: if you use your bonus action to cast a spell then all other spells for your turn must be cantrips. It doesn't matter if you action surge or not. The ruling on that has nothing to do with how many actions just that if you cast a spell as a bonus action, all other spells that turn must be cantrips. Now, you could not use your bonus action and then cast two spells with the action and the action surge.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Correct. However, it rarely makes sense to skip your action, since you can always benefit from the Dodge, Help or Ready actions if you don't have anything better to do.
Also all correct. There was no need to Action Surge in that scenario.
Finally, you can't damage a bunch of enemies by running past them with Spirit Guardians. They have to enter the spell's area; that's not the same as you passing the spell's area over them. At best you can set the area up over some of them so they take damage at the start of their turn. This is covered in Sage Advice Compendium.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Thanks for the insights. I just find it curious and odd that they could cast, action surge, cast, but NOT cast, action surge, bonus action cast.
As long as they are cast cabtrips with their actions, they can (kind of a waste of action surge though).