Can a Nothic attune to a Magic item meant for wizards? In their description, it says that they were wizards who were cursed. Would a magic item meant for a wizard work with a Nothic, for the purpose of encounters?
Nothing is preventing any sentient creature from attuning to items if they qualify for them (like if it's not something that can only be used by spellcasters or by specific races). It's a quick way to beef up a few enemies by giving them an attuned item that's not normally in their stat block. Plus it's something to entice the players... seeing a monster with a magic item would get the party to want to take it down, if only to secure the magic item for themselves.
It’s D&D. If you want the Nothic packing a Gatling Laser, go bananas. In original D&D back in the ‘70s, Garry Gygax actually planted a crashed alien spaceship into D&D for his friends and it actually went into print.
Nothing is preventing any sentient creature from attuning to items if they qualify for them (like if it's not something that can only be used by spellcasters or by specific races). It's a quick way to beef up a few enemies by giving them an attuned item that's not normally in their stat block. Plus it's something to entice the players... seeing a monster with a magic item would get the party to want to take it down, if only to secure the magic item for themselves.
But I mean the items that specifically say "Wizards only" or "Spellcasters Only"
Ah, sorry, I read your post too quickly and didn't answer correctly. Anyway, this is definitely something up to DM discretion, but I think it's a fair interpretation. Keep in mind that there are also some subclasses and races that can use magic items that they normally wouldn't be allowed to, so it's reasonable that if a particular creature has some reason to explain why it would be able to use a magic item usually considered class-specific then it's more interesting to let them use it than not.
Ah, sorry, I read your post too quickly and didn't answer correctly. Anyway, this is definitely something up to DM discretion, but I think it's a fair interpretation. Keep in mind that there are also some subclasses and races that can use magic items that they normally wouldn't be allowed to, so it's reasonable that if a particular creature has some reason to explain why it would be able to use a magic item usually considered class-specific then it's more interesting to let them use it than not.
Don't forget that npcs do not need to follow the same guidelines as PC's. The DM has ultimate power as to whether or not a certain npc can or cannot use/attune to an item.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can a Nothic attune to a Magic item meant for wizards? In their description, it says that they were wizards who were cursed. Would a magic item meant for a wizard work with a Nothic, for the purpose of encounters?
I think that is up to individual DM ruling. I would probably rule yes, because it makes the Nothic more interesting.
WOTC lies. We know that WOTC lies. WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. We know that WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. And still they lie.
Because of the above (a paraphrase from Orwell) I no longer post to the forums -- PM me if you need help or anything.
Nothing is preventing any sentient creature from attuning to items if they qualify for them (like if it's not something that can only be used by spellcasters or by specific races). It's a quick way to beef up a few enemies by giving them an attuned item that's not normally in their stat block. Plus it's something to entice the players... seeing a monster with a magic item would get the party to want to take it down, if only to secure the magic item for themselves.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
It’s D&D. If you want the Nothic packing a Gatling Laser, go bananas. In original D&D back in the ‘70s, Garry Gygax actually planted a crashed alien spaceship into D&D for his friends and it actually went into print.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
But I mean the items that specifically say "Wizards only" or "Spellcasters Only"
Ah, sorry, I read your post too quickly and didn't answer correctly. Anyway, this is definitely something up to DM discretion, but I think it's a fair interpretation. Keep in mind that there are also some subclasses and races that can use magic items that they normally wouldn't be allowed to, so it's reasonable that if a particular creature has some reason to explain why it would be able to use a magic item usually considered class-specific then it's more interesting to let them use it than not.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
This
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Don't forget that npcs do not need to follow the same guidelines as PC's. The DM has ultimate power as to whether or not a certain npc can or cannot use/attune to an item.